+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default Need help regarding Structural/ Mechanical/ Plumbing and Electrical layouts! >.<

    Hi all!

    Please help me! I am currently taking a short course in drafting. they are teaching all the basic from Architectural -> Structural -> HVAC -> Electrical -> and Drainage/Plumbing. And i got some questions, i hope you guys can help me >.<

    1. In Structural, we are asked to do the RC details for roofing and Beams. i don't know how to do this one. It will be a big help if someone can explain it to me, or show any sample.

    2. In Structural, we are also asked to do the RC details of Staircase. Any explanations or samples will be a great help.

    3. With regards to the Plumbing/Drainage, i really don't have any idea how it looks. can anyone send me a sample or something?

    I really need a lot of help.


    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,492

    Default

    RC as in Reinforced Concrete?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default

    hmm.. i think so, ehehe. we are using concrete for the slabs and beams.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,492

    Default

    What country are you located in? Just so we know whether we are dealing with metric or imperial sizes for things such as rebar.

    What textbook are you using?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default

    i am staying in United Arab Emirates. we are not using a specific book, since this is just like a short course, they just gave us a manual and lectures in PDF files.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,492

    Default

    A short course in the basics of five different disciplines and they expect you to have enough knowledge to design a concrete roof, beam, stairs and to complete a simple plumbing and drainage plan?

    How detailed do these "details" have to be? Are you calling out reinforcement bar sizes or specifying the strength of the concrete?

    Is there a library nearby that you can go pull some reference books and have a look at what you are being asked to design?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,492
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  8. #8
    Super Member JPlanera's Avatar
    Computer Details
    JPlanera's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 x64
    Computer:
    Dell T7400
    CPU:
    (4) Intel Xeon CPU X5272 @ 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    8G
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 570 & RADEON X6000
    Primary Storage:
    80G main
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB ext
    Monitor:
    (3) DELL 21" wide
    Using
    Mechanical 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    528

    Default

    Seems odd that course manual wouldnt contain the information needed.... Is this a Cad/Telepathy class? I want in!
    You might be an engineer, if you tell people that time travel does not exist..... and then 5 minutes later explain how you would build a time machine

    Engineers aren't boring people, we just get excited over boring things.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default

    i have checked some samples of plans and comparing to what we are doing, it's not that detailed but all the important things are there.
    He gave us the sizes for the bars, for slabs, columns.. hmm but for stairs i think he didn't mention anything [or maybe i am not paying attention that time @_@... ill ask my classmates]

    Thanks for the file! i think this can help!

    one more question, for this RC of Stairs, i don't need to show the whole staircase right?

    Thanks a lot! ^^, now for the roof, electrical and plumbing...

  10. #10
    Super Member JPlanera's Avatar
    Computer Details
    JPlanera's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 x64
    Computer:
    Dell T7400
    CPU:
    (4) Intel Xeon CPU X5272 @ 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    8G
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 570 & RADEON X6000
    Primary Storage:
    80G main
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB ext
    Monitor:
    (3) DELL 21" wide
    Using
    Mechanical 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    528

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by elvewien View Post
    one more question, for this RC of Stairs, i don't need to show the whole staircase right?
    No, just as ReMarks pic shows, the details are in the top and bottom, and because the middle is "repeating", only the minimum is needed.
    You might be an engineer, if you tell people that time travel does not exist..... and then 5 minutes later explain how you would build a time machine

    Engineers aren't boring people, we just get excited over boring things.

Similar Threads

  1. Tag plumbing fixtures
    By JONTHEPOPE in forum MEP
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28th Jan 2009, 08:14 pm
  2. Plumbing in MEP ?????
    By mcklem in forum MEP
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th Dec 2008, 07:56 am
  3. Need autocad drawing with electrical or mechanical symbols
    By Holsteijn in forum Software & Licensing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th Nov 2008, 03:42 pm
  4. drawing electrical & mechanical sketches wit autocd 2000
    By penmoveh in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th Apr 2006, 12:47 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts