Need help drawing plate

LTAZ

Hi, I'm just getting started in Autocad and I've taken a class, now I'm in between semesters waiting on the next class to start, so I've found a couple of assignments on the net that I'm drawing. I'm stuck on a few of the circles of this plate. The 4 R3 circles on the left part, I can't figure out how to get the exact placement of them. I have the center line that they go on, but can't figure it out. Also, the 2 farthest right circles that go on the r48 circle... stumped on that as well. Thanks for any help guys!

PLATE3_2002.jpg

Not quite understanding.

Have you even looked at your AutoCAD Help files?

A third option would be to find the midpoint of your centerline and draw a circle there with a radius of 20 units. Where the circle crosses the line (in two places) draw a circle with the indicated radius of 3 units. Then construct the two remaining circles in any matter you choose. When you are finished drawing all four small circles erase the first (large) circle.

There are probably an additional three ways to draw the circles I haven't even thought of but I have not had my first cup of coffee yet so I'll let someone else volunteer that information.

Quick look at this I would say whoever did it didn't know what they were doing.

Am I missing something or is there a missing dimension on that row of holes?

I'm guessing that the second hole in the row is at 25 on the X.

Making that assumption I would create a vertical construction to find the intersection and then using geometry to solve the other locations

- draw a line perpendicular to the centerline you have for the row at the center of this circle.

Then offset 20mm as needed for the other centers.

Second question is pretty easy (see attached image).

Practice, practice, practice.

Also, if your field is Mechanical - you might want to spend your valuable time learning one of the next generation CAD tools like Autodesk Inventor.