+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 43
  1. #21
    Super Member qball's Avatar
    Discipline
    Structural
    qball's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Structural
    Details
    Structural / Architectural, Residential, Multi-family, Industrial, Wood frame, Steel, Masonry, Concrete, Tilt-up
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Kelowna, Canada
    Posts
    729

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Each way: one way you will see the side of the bar (single line, or polyline with or without thickness), the other you will see the round end of the bar (use a circle or a donut). The actual diameter of the bar may or may not be required to scale. I just use the same donut for 10m, 15m, 20m, whatever just so it plots ok. Unless there's some reason the accuracy is required.
    Some of the terminology and questions can be cleared with Google Image searches, such as "footing keyway" and "weld symbols".
    It's like a construction site on your desktop!
    Attached Images

  2. #22
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    45

    Default

    yup yup i see what you mean thanks qball

  3. #23
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Can someone who actually did the structural drawing thru Penn Foster help me out. Im tryin to figure out how exactly this is supposed to be organized. I started out by drawing (Plate 1) in Model space at full scale. I am trying to stumble thru the sheet set version of this thing. Is that how it's supposed to be created? Also, when I do get on my 1st sheet, Im confused on how the dimensions and text should be scaled. Also, should everything including the balloons be created on Model space and text/dim on the layout? Then last. Though I have yet to get to that point, when Im done with the first plate, is a new model space attached to the sheet set for all remaining plates? Thanks for any help I can get.....

  4. #24
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    38,304

    Default

    Penn-Foster now asks for a sheet-set version of the structural package? Can you post the PDF?

    Re: Text and dimensions. Are you told, in the instructions, to use annotative scaling for these drawing elements?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! N-E-S-T-L-E-'S, Nestle's makes the very best......chocolate.

  5. #25
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    17

    Default

    No, thats the problem.... They dont say squat bout what they want.... Thats why Im tryin to figure out how to set this up. All it says in the instryctions is things that refer to "sheets". Like section A will be located on sheet 1 and the drawing on sheet 3 Sec B will be drawn on sheet 4..... So Im figuring thats what they are looking for. It dont say much bout text and dimension so I figure annotative is fine.

    What a different world from SDRC/IDEAS.
    Attached Files

  6. #26
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    38,304

    Default

    No one I know who has done this project has used sheet sets.

    From what I can tell from reviewing drawings done by past students is that every student, thus far, elected to do everything (geometry, text, dimensions and call-out bubbles) in model space. I haven't seen one person even use a layout. You're the first to even mention it (as well as sheet sets and annotative scaling). What are you doing taking this course? Seems you are already well ahead of everyone else.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! N-E-S-T-L-E-'S, Nestle's makes the very best......chocolate.

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    Mike_Taylor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64 Bit
    CPU:
    Intel I7 2600
    RAM:
    16GB DDR3
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 550
    Primary Storage:
    2TB @ 7500 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    1 TB @ 7500 RPM, 750GB @ 5200 RPM
    Monitor:
    2 @ 24"
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Mike_Taylor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Rombald Inc. - CAD Designer and CAD Specialist
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Details
    Primarily Electrical Building Systems Design The "Lighting Guy"
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Stratford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    414

    Default

    I agree with Remark, unless your simply taking to become familiar with structural standards.

    I remeber my first year of school we had Engineering Drawing 1 (AutoCAD basics). I had asked our prof if he wanted everything done in model space or papaerspace or a combination. He simply looked at me quizicaly and said. "No, what you think best." (He had immigrated from China only 3 years earlier).

    You should have seen him playing with some of the dynamic blocks I made.

    I now realize the way I typed that made me sound like I graduated college 15 years ago, when in reality im still going lol.

  8. #28
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    24

    Default

    i'm working on the same project and i'm having trouble in the same area here. for some reason the screencast URL wont work anymore. any help nestly? thanks!

  9. #29
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional (32bit)
    Motherboard:
    Intel DG33FB
    CPU:
    Intel Core2 E2220 @ 2.4GHz
    RAM:
    4GB DDR2 6400
    Graphics:
    ATI Firepro 5800
    Primary Storage:
    250GB WD 7200rpm / 320GB WD 7200rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    500GB WD external USB
    Monitor:
    Samsung 26" @ 1920x1200 + LG 22" @ 1680x1050
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    2,642

    Default

    I don't know what happened to my 2nd video, but I re-uploaded another one in post #12. The video is not intended to be taken literally, only to demonstrate the general arrangement of the columns, beams, girders, and channels as described in the project booklet.

  10. #30
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    thats a pretty cool look at 3d part of AutoCAD. i understand what its meant to look like, just dont know exactly how they want me to draw the 4x4x6 pieces of angle. i will play around with it some more and hopefully post a look at my drawing soon. Thanks for re-uploading your video.

Similar Threads

  1. Penn and Foster Structural Project Help
    By robxfinch in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 20th Nov 2011, 03:31 am
  2. Structural Wizard???
    By kkleinchester in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th Jan 2010, 06:26 pm
  3. Structural Beam MEP
    By dsibbo in forum MEP
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th Nov 2008, 09:18 pm
  4. Structural drawing
    By cjb007 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22nd Oct 2008, 01:44 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts