+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    rwhitt0724's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    See details...
    rwhitt0724's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Steel Detailer @ Misc. Fab Shop
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Steel Detailer Miscellaneous Items; Stairs, Railings, Nozzles, Platforms, Spiral Stairs, etc.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    54

    Default Turn off Auto Snap? FOREVER!

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    It may sound crazy but is there an option to turn off autostap forever? I hate autosnap with a passion and I want it gone. I didn't really do any in-depth search just wondering if anyone knew if it was even possible? If not that, I guess I could just change the F9 key to not be assigned to autosnap.

    Did I mention I really hate autosnap?

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,776

    Default

    The only time SNAP becomes a problem for me is the rare instance I use it for one particular engineer's drawing. The other 99.9% of the time it never comes into play. I can't even say that I've accidentally hit the key either. So how come you seem to have such a problem with it? To me it is a virtual non-entity. If I hadn't seen your post I would have never thought of it.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    rwhitt0724's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    See details...
    rwhitt0724's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Steel Detailer @ Misc. Fab Shop
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Steel Detailer Miscellaneous Items; Stairs, Railings, Nozzles, Platforms, Spiral Stairs, etc.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    54

    Default

    My keyboard is a little different than a standard one. The F1-F5 keys are grouped together, the F6-F10 keys are grouped together; instead of F1-F4, F5-F8, F9-F12 as on a normal keyboard. I do not use Snap (F9), but do use Ortho religiously (F8 ). You would think after years of using this keyboard I would get used to it but I am constantly accidentally pressing F9 instead of F8. I literally never have a reason to use snap, so I would rather it just be permanently turned off (or at least unable to be activated by F9, which after thinking, I figure is probably the easiest way to turn it off permanently, by finding out how to remove F9 from being its shortcut button).

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,776

    Default

    Disable in altogether or reassign it to a function/command you do use. The alternative is get smaller fingers (doubtful) or larger keys. Heck, just pry the darn key right off and never worry about it again. LOL
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    I agree with Remark, go to your CUI and edit what F9 does and that will solve your problem.

    This has nothing to do with the original question, other than it's similar and a little bit funny. I use a Saitek Cyborg keyboard. I also play music while drafting, and I noticed right after I got this thing that nearly everytime I hit F8, the music player would jump to the next song. Could not figure out why for the life of me why that was happening. This keyboard has a membrane strip above the F keys to control an assortment of functions, some of them being the various features of the media player. One day I actually looked at the keyboard while I was reaching for F8 and discovered the problem. I was touching the fast forward button with a stray finger while hitting that key. Moral of this story....sometimes you just gotta be smarter than the stuff you're working with, and in this case, I wasn't!
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  6. #6
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    2,826

    Default

    I used to put a spring under my "Insert" key to prevent accidentally activating Overtype mode.

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2009
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    My computer had extra buttons to the left of the board and every time I hit tab I would open up the internet browser. This got old after a week. I took that key off the board and with time have removed all those hotkeys, because you can't teach an old dog new tricks.

    _______________________
    I design commercial playground equipment with CAD.
    Last edited by Cadderpillar; 7th Jan 2011 at 08:04 pm.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7500
    CPU:
    Xeon Dual Core E5503 2.0Ghz
    RAM:
    6GB DDR3 ECC SDRAM, 1333MHz, 6x1GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 3800
    Primary Storage:
    300Gb, 10K rpm
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    3,930

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rwhitt0724 View Post
    It may sound crazy but is there an option to turn off autostap forever? I hate autosnap with a passion and I want it gone. I didn't really do any in-depth search just wondering if anyone knew if it was even possible? If not that, I guess I could just change the F9 key to not be assigned to autosnap.

    Did I mention I really hate autosnap?
    Careful with your terminology, AutoSnap is completely different from Snap. I rarely use snap and I have it set to a really small setting in a startup lisp file. That way if it is on at some point it doesn't get in the way.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    rwhitt0724's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    See details...
    rwhitt0724's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Steel Detailer @ Misc. Fab Shop
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Steel Detailer Miscellaneous Items; Stairs, Railings, Nozzles, Platforms, Spiral Stairs, etc.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Good point rkent. I am talking about the GRID SNAP/SNAP MODE (F9 is the default key to turn it off and on; if grid snap/snap mode isn't the accurate name either). NOT AUTOSNAP. LOVE AUTOSNAP! HATE GRID SNAP! And does anyone actually know how to remove this F9 key from turning it on? I was trying to mess with the CUI and I found the command but could not find how it was linked to the F9 key. Does anyone have any info on that or could you refer me to a topic that covers something like this?

  10. #10
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    2,826

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by rwhitt0724 View Post
    does anyone actually know how to remove this F9 key from turning it on?
    Delete it from the Keyboard Shortcuts section of the CUI. (If you're not already familiar with editing the CUI, I recommend making a copy of your acad.cuix file first)

    http://screencast.com/t/0dSZ7YXlzWeC

Similar Threads

  1. Turn Off Auto Highlighting
    By Bill Tillman in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th May 2011, 05:32 am
  2. Pasting takes forever
    By jay-d in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th Sep 2009, 05:13 pm
  3. Auto Snap not working right
    By Molloy in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 6th Aug 2007, 12:58 am
  4. turn off auto selection,
    By yedan in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd Mar 2007, 10:38 am
  5. Diamonds are forever...
    By erona in forum Blocks, Images, Models & Materials
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th Feb 2005, 10:01 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts