+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,139

    Default Limit Profile Length in Profile View--Possible?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    There's a profile view on this project with two profiles. One is from an old surface in a landfill, and one is from an even older surface. The edges of the older profile overlap the old profile, so I want to limit the starting and ending stations for the older profile, i.e. clip it horizontally at specific places.

    I could swear I've done this before. You can see the stations on the profile properties, the profile view properties, and the alignment properties, but you can't change them in any of those places.

    The only solution I could come up with was to create a new, shorter alignment and superimpose it on the original profile view. Anybody got a better idea?
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Using
    Civil 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    247

    Default

    Another option is to create a new Profile View, so you have two of them. Set one Profile View so that it displays only Profile 1, and the other so that it displays only Profile 2. Superimpose the two Profile Views, one on top of the other. Then create a new Profile View Style that has everything turned off on the "Display" tab, and assign it to Profile View 2. Then, in the Profile View Properties for PV2, limit the starting and ending stations by keying in a "User specified range" on the Stations tab. Profile 2 will be limited to that station range.
    Richard 'Sinc' Sincovec
    Manager of Technology - Edward-James Surveying
    Tools for Civil 3D - Quux Software

  3. #3
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,139

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks for the suggestion. As it turns out, I couldn't make that profile smooth enough for the boss, so I just drew it in. Now I'm putting hatches in these profiles. Yes, hatches in profiles, welcome to my world.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

Similar Threads

  1. 3D- Profile
    By cadnightjo in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd Oct 2009, 12:31 pm
  2. Problem with profile view and grid
    By jimjones in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th Jul 2009, 02:20 pm
  3. Profile Grid View Problem
    By Burtzlaff in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30th Sep 2008, 01:30 am
  4. Profile View Style - Last Station Out
    By Hardney in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29th May 2008, 08:04 pm
  5. copy profile from one profile view to another
    By Space Mouse in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th Apr 2008, 09:45 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts