+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44

Thread: 3D Tubes

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    Chris_Hebden's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Vista
    Computer:
    Advent 8315
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    12

    Default 3D Tubes

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi all, i was looking for some advice with drawing 3D tubes in AutoCAD. I am looking to draw an inlet manifold of a car and would like to draw the runners connecting to the plenum.

    I have no idea where to start and have nothing really to show you to explain any better than the above unfortunately ! I have AutoCAD 2010 and have plaid with the torous function and trying to slice that into a shape i would like, but cant do that either !

    Any help would be greatly received! This is a great website by the way!!!!

    Chris

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,203

    Default

    You should change your profile to read AutoCAD 2010.

    Do you even know how to create a straight tube section?

    Do you have a diagram for the inlet manifold you want to draw?

    This may actually be a job for Inventor or Solidworks.
    Last edited by ReMark; 6th Jan 2011 at 12:08 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,203

    Default

    Quick example. Start with two circles representing the I.D. and O.D. of your tube. Using the PressPull command click between the two circles (where you see the red "x") then move your mouse in the direction you want to go (up or down). Exact distances can be entered at the keyboard.

    This is just one of three or four methods that can be used.

    3D Tube.jpg
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,203

    Default

    You might want to check out this related thread.

    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...light=manifold
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,528

    Default

    I would not even begin to try to create something like that in AutoCAD, unless you are going to keep it very simple. Use Sweep.

    If you are a student I would download free Autodesk Inventor for this effort http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity

    This should get you started - if you can tie a knot.....
    http://www.mcadforums.com/forums/vie...hp?f=5&t=11758
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,203

    Default

    An example using the Sweep command. The centerline of the tube is created and then a circle is "swept" along it.

    3D Tube Sweep_1.jpg

    A second, close-up, view. Some additional work was done to hollow the tube out.

    3D Tube Sweep_2.jpg
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Back in the pre-Mechanical Desktop days I did that sort of stuff all the time for the refrigeration industry in AutoCAD 14 and 2000. It's not difficult once you get the hang of it. Remark gave you a good start. The key to doing that sort of thing in Autocad is to visualize how the tubing bender will make the bends in the tube. It will grasp the tube by one end, position the tube for the first bend. The dies will then grasp the tube and make the first bend. The dies will retract, the bender will feed the tube forward and rotate it to the position appropriate for the next bend, grasp and bend again. I know a text description of this doesn't make much sense and later today I'll post a Jing video of what I'm talking about. I have to make a run into the city this morning to meet a supplier so it will probably be around noon before I get it posted.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,203

    Default

    I took a look at a bunch of inlet manifold images on Google and I really wouldn't want to attempt drawing one in AutoCAD if there was a better way.

    JDM: What would be some of the advantages to doing this in Inventor? How might it be easier to do?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,528

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    JDM: What would be some of the advantages to doing this in Inventor? How might it be easier to do?
    Inventor allows you to project two 2D views onto each other resulting in the 3D path. So all you need is the top view and front view in 2D and Inventor will create the 3D path for you. I'll try to post another example (other than the knot) later today. I'm thinking this would be possible in AutoCAD with the xedges command, but it would be a lot more work to set up given the way that command works.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,203

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    The ability to project two 2D views onto each other sounds like it would be very useful. Thanks.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Bending Tubes?
    By crevio in forum 3D Modelling
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2009, 04:24 pm
  2. Pipes & Tubes
    By ankurpraja in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th Sep 2009, 10:56 pm
  3. Vertexes to Tubes/3D
    By cadboi08 in forum 3D Modelling
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 26th Mar 2009, 04:30 pm
  4. Joining HHS tubes in 3D
    By robbie in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th Nov 2007, 12:30 am
  5. Getting these tubes to intersect properly
    By dale in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 3rd Apr 2007, 03:10 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts