Change Block Attribute

forum32

Hi guys,

I am pretty new to autocad, but am familiar with programming in general. I am trying to write a script to change some information in a block.

Unfortunately the change is complex and needs to be done on about a hundred drawings.

The current block has:

Designed by: and Approved by:

The person who originally made the block should have separated the two tags to make the process much easier (DName & AName would have been nice).

Is there a way to only change the XXX tag in the "Approved by" box? I have tried messing with -attedit and the commands, but it seems to apply to both instances of the tag. Can I reference the tag using a numerical value? Say XXX(1) similar to an array? I have seen that VBA can be used to reference using an array but unfortunately that does not get installed with 2010 and would required a call to IT.

Thanks!

Hi forum32,

Welcome to CADTutor :)

Take a look at the selection of subfunctions here - the SetAttributeValue function will only set the value of the first attribute it finds with a specific tag - you can approach the problem using either Visual LISP or Vanilla LISP.

Lee

Here's a snipet that steps thru a selection set of attributed inserts and dumps their attribute tagnames and values in an associative list:

[b][color=BLACK]([/color][/b]defun c:dump-att [b][color=FUCHSIA]([/color][/b]/ i ss en ed an ad al[b][color=FUCHSIA])[/color][/b]
 [b][color=FUCHSIA]([/color][/b]and [b][color=NAVY]([/color][/b]setq i -1
           ss [b][color=MAROON]([/color][/b]ssget '[b][color=GREEN]([/color][/b][b][color=BLUE]([/color][/b]0 . [color=#2f4f4f]"INSERT"[/color][b][color=BLUE])[/color][/b][b][color=BLUE]([/color][/b]66 . 1[b][color=BLUE])[/color][/b][b][color=GREEN])[/color][/b][b][color=MAROON])[/color][/b][b][color=NAVY])[/color][/b]