+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Scale A Detail View

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    So I have a view that needs to be larger in my drawing. The view is already dimensioned and when i change the scale the dimension values changes. For example my object is 5" high when i double the scale it goes to 10", but i want the value to still say 5". I know I can individually edit each dimension but is there a quicker way?

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    designerstuart's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Computer:
    various
    Discipline
    Architectural
    designerstuart's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    architect
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    ADT 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    near london, near europe
    Posts
    820

    Default

    YES THERE IS.
    always draw in 1:1 scale - use paperspace and/or viewports to change the scale of views.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,801

    Default

    Your problem illustrates one of the main reasons why layouts and viewports are commonly used.

    Could you solve your problem by creating a second dimension style?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    designerstuart's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Computer:
    various
    Discipline
    Architectural
    designerstuart's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    architect
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    ADT 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    near london, near europe
    Posts
    820

    Default

    model space is where you draw (1:1 always!)
    paper space is where you make layouts (any scale you like)

    do this - use autocad help is unsure:

    create a paper space layout - based on the size paper you want to use
    insert a viewport into it (command VPORTS)
    set the scale of the viewport (eg. 1:2)
    print from this layout

    by the way - welcome to CADTutor forums!

  5. #5
    Super Member JPlanera's Avatar
    Computer Details
    JPlanera's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 x64
    Computer:
    Dell T7400
    CPU:
    (4) Intel Xeon CPU X5272 @ 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    8G
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 570 & RADEON X6000
    Primary Storage:
    80G main
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB ext
    Monitor:
    (3) DELL 21" wide
    Using
    Mechanical 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    528

    Default

    I hope this doesnt turn in to a PS vs MS argument again.... My company does not dimension in PS(and i hate it), so we either create a new dim style as ReMark said, or select the dimensions that we want to scale and adjust accordingly in properties...
    You might be an engineer, if you tell people that time travel does not exist..... and then 5 minutes later explain how you would build a time machine

    Engineers aren't boring people, we just get excited over boring things.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,801

    Default

    Argument? No. Debate? Maybe, but we'll save that for another day.

    I want it duly noted though that the person who suggested creating a new dim style (yours truly) does dimension in paper space (layouts) and has no problems. But I'm open to everyone using what works best for their particular situation / discipline / company policy. Peace out.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  7. #7
    Super Member JPlanera's Avatar
    Computer Details
    JPlanera's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 x64
    Computer:
    Dell T7400
    CPU:
    (4) Intel Xeon CPU X5272 @ 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    8G
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 570 & RADEON X6000
    Primary Storage:
    80G main
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB ext
    Monitor:
    (3) DELL 21" wide
    Using
    Mechanical 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    528

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Peace out.
    *Drops microphone and walks off stage*
    You might be an engineer, if you tell people that time travel does not exist..... and then 5 minutes later explain how you would build a time machine

    Engineers aren't boring people, we just get excited over boring things.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    designerstuart's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Computer:
    various
    Discipline
    Architectural
    designerstuart's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    architect
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    ADT 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    near london, near europe
    Posts
    820

    Default

    this isn't a dimstyle issue, is it? i thought it's a simple matter of dimensioning the object at one scale and viewing or printing it at another. ?

    if so, the answer is simple: viewports.

  9. #9
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    2,826

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by designerstuart View Post
    this isn't a dimstyle issue, is it? i thought it's a simple matter of dimensioning the object at one scale and viewing or printing it at another. ?
    I think that depends on whether the OP is working only on the modelspace tab, or if he's using layouts/viewports.


    JPlanera, I'm curious why you don't just set your dimstyle to "Scale dimensions to layout" on the "Fit" tab, and let AutoCAD do the scaling?

  10. #10
    Super Member JPlanera's Avatar
    Computer Details
    JPlanera's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 x64
    Computer:
    Dell T7400
    CPU:
    (4) Intel Xeon CPU X5272 @ 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    8G
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 570 & RADEON X6000
    Primary Storage:
    80G main
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB ext
    Monitor:
    (3) DELL 21" wide
    Using
    Mechanical 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    528

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by nestly View Post
    JPlanera, I'm curious why you don't just set your dimstyle to "Scale dimensions to layout" on the "Fit" tab, and let AutoCAD do the scaling?
    We dont dimension in paperspace. so when doing section views at 2:1, we have to DIMSCALE=2 for those dimensions
    You might be an engineer, if you tell people that time travel does not exist..... and then 5 minutes later explain how you would build a time machine

    Engineers aren't boring people, we just get excited over boring things.

Similar Threads

  1. Level of Detail vs View in Assembly
    By linnmaster in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 5th Aug 2013, 08:20 pm
  2. Linear diameter on detail view
    By Enfiel3D in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st May 2009, 05:16 pm
  3. Detail View?
    By tonika in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th Apr 2009, 05:58 pm
  4. Detail instead of Icon view...
    By Flores in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 30th Jul 2008, 11:56 am
  5. Detail view
    By clappr in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th Jul 2006, 09:15 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts