+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    45

    Default Scaling problem.

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    heyz guys I think i messed up big time, i think. heres the problem. i had to do 7 drawings. each drawing is like a section of drawing #1. all of the dimensions came out perfectly. then #2 is the detail drawing with I first scaled to make it bigger. then I did the same thing with all the other drawings. I then noticed when I dimensioned the all the drawings the dimensions is diff. Is it because I scaled first before I use the dimension command.

    example: #1 drawing one of the lines were 3". but all the other ones turned to like 1'. is it possible to fix this, or I have to redraw everything?

    thxs.

  2. #2
    Super Member kencaz's Avatar
    Computer Details
    kencaz's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro, Vista, Linux,W7
    Computer:
    HP,s Dell
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    kencaz's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer/Machinist
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    759

    Default

    You should be drawing everything 1:1 regardless. If you dimension in Model Space then use annotative dimensions and scale your viewports...

    KC
    Some of my AutoCAD and Inventor Pics and Videos...
    http://www.youtube.com/kencaz45



  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    45

    Default

    yea i am drawing everything in 1:1.

  4. #4
    Senior Member daft vader's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    171

    Default

    but did you scale in model space as kencaz said ?

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Firligic View Post
    yea i am drawing everything in 1:1.
    But you also state in your initial post that you "scaled first before you used the dimension command". That was a bad move on your part.

    Are you using annotative scaling for your dimensions and text?

    Are you using a Layout with viewports?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    45

    Default

    i usualy select the whole object, SCALE command, and drag it to a approiate size. then I change the drawing up a bit, thne I dimensioned it
    i am checke dthe option for annotative scaling
    and no viewports.

  7. #7
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Firligic View Post
    i usualy select the whole object, SCALE command, and drag it to a approiate size. then I change the drawing up a bit, thne I dimensioned it
    i am checke dthe option for annotative scaling
    and no viewports.
    If you are scaling in model space, you are changing the actual size of the things you've drawn. In other words, if you've drawn a rectangle that is 2" x 4" and you "scale" it, then the actual object is no longer 2 x 4, it's 4 x 8 or what ever you scaled it to. Draw your objects at a 1:1 scale in model space, then switch to a layout tab, and set the scale of the view, or zoom level as some like to think of it.

    Quote from helpfile:
    When you work in a layout, the scale factor of a view in a layout viewport represents a ratio between the actual size of the model displayed in the viewport and the size of the layout. The ratio is determined by dividing the paper space units by the model space units. For example, for a quarter-scale drawing, the ratio would be a scale factor of one paper space unit to four model space units, or 1:4.
    Scaling or stretching the layout viewport border does not change the scale of the view within the viewport.

    You can enlarge or reduce as necessary without changing the actual size of the objects in the drawing.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    45

    Default

    oooo ic, darn that means i really messed up. i actually changed the size.

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Ah...now he sees the light. I'm pretty sure you find hundreds of posts here from forum members telling new users to draw in model space at FULL size and utilize layouts and viewports. How did you miss that information? I am surprised Penn Foster's training material does not mention it specifically. Or does it?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    yea i see the light now. in my opinion penn foster material is more of "a what does this mean" and not really how to use it. I guess thats why they made these projects to force you to know how to use it, by insanely calling them for help and getting help from the light of Remark Lmao. if it was me id had go to school to The Light of Remark

    thxs hehe

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with scaling
    By alan_mardan in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 12th Nov 2010, 05:23 pm
  2. Scaling problem
    By Ricardo in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 22nd Feb 2010, 05:31 am
  3. Scaling Problem
    By boiler6700 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th Nov 2008, 06:30 pm
  4. scaling problem
    By njgomez in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th Jan 2008, 02:33 pm
  5. problem scaling (dims)
    By megapod in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th Feb 2006, 09:47 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts