+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30
  1. #11
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    My mother used to call me sonny but that doesn't mean I was very bright. LOL

    Anyway, there are far more knowledgeable people here to "show you the light". Follow their advice and you should be fine.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  2. #12
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    The three keys to success..Think fast....Fail fast...Adjust fast...
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  3. #13
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    45

    Default

    i agreed the more mistakes you make, the better and faster you learn

  4. #14
    Super Member Ryder76's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Ryder76's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell T7500
    Discipline
    See details...
    Ryder76's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Electrical Designer - Oil & Gas
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Subsea Solutions
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    570

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Firligic View Post
    i agreed the more mistakes you make, the better and faster you learn
    Oh good Lord; then, I must be a flippin' genius!
    "Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds." - Albert Einstein

  5. #15
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    No need to use modelspace for scaling, learn to draw in 2D or 3D at 1:1 in Model Tab and use Layout tabs for the titleblock and scaled details, views, etc.

    If you do scale for some reason in Modelspace (some places still operate this way and you may work somewhere with drawings done in this manner), the command for setting your dimensions to show correctly is _DIMLFAC, you can set this in the properties menu when you select the dimension> right-click>Properties>Primary Units>Dim Scale.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  6. #16
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    45

    Default

    ok i know what i did wrong now( i think), but dont know how to fix this.
    so i have 2 drawings #1(elevation plan) drawing is done. so then i continue using #1 drawing and used part of it to show connection details for my #2(detail plan) drawing.
    this is what i did wrong. the part of the drawing from #1 I scaled it by dragging it and i have no clue what i scaled it by. now my dimension is all messed up.
    for example lets say the line suppose to be 2 1/6" it turns out to be 7 3/16"
    and thats for only 1 line of my drawing. how do I undo this wrongly scaling process that I did.
    I am so stupid. i didnt tihnk ahead. I dragged the scale of the detail drawing so it can fit the previous drawing of my title block.
    someone show me the light please(Remark)

  7. #17
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Dimension or measure out to max number of decimal places a line that you know what the length should be.
    Simple calculation to figure out the scale factor to return to 1:1
    or
    draw line of known length near line that should be that know length
    use the scale with reference option to rescale the rest of the geometry to the reference length.

    Now that your geometry is 1:1 ask your teacher to show you how to use paperspace layouts to get scaled viewports of your geometry (not scaled geometry, scaled views of it - the geometry is always 1:1 - just like the real world).

    If your teacher cannot show you how to do this then find a different school or shut yourself in a room for a week with several good AutoCAD books and figure it out on your own. (basically how I figured it out)


    for example lets say the line suppose to be 2 1/6" it turns out to be 7 3/16"
    Think back to 4th grade (10yr old students in USA) math class on ratios. You know what it is currently, you know what it should be, set up the formula to calculate the scale factor. (That is, what number times 7 3/16 would result in 2 1/6). I'll let you chew on this a bit before checking back. You might want to convert these numbers to decimal first.
    Last edited by JD Mather; 14th Jan 2011 at 03:49 pm.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  8. #18
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    I'll add one more bit to what J D has stated, if you do not use the reference option, which I recommend, when asked for the scale factor, right click and select Quick Calc to do your calculations.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  9. #19
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Which drawing are you working on? Is this the civil or structural one?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #20
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    this is for the structural drawing, I dont want my dimensions to be all wrong before I send it in for grading

    and how do I use reference option.

    once I use command scale, all it ask me to do is select base point.

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with scaling
    By alan_mardan in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 12th Nov 2010, 05:23 pm
  2. Scaling problem
    By Ricardo in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 22nd Feb 2010, 05:31 am
  3. Scaling Problem
    By boiler6700 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th Nov 2008, 06:30 pm
  4. scaling problem
    By njgomez in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th Jan 2008, 02:33 pm
  5. problem scaling (dims)
    By megapod in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th Feb 2006, 09:47 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts