+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Laptop recommendation for AutoCad 2011 for architecture!

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hey guys,

    My cousin is going to school to study architecture, and she asked me to recommend her a laptop that can run AutoCad 2011 well.

    I found a few laptops with Intel i7 chips and good amount of memory, but I'm worried about the video card.

    Most ive seen in her price range have either a ATI 5650m or 5730m or nVidia 330m. I know that autocad runs better on a workstation card like the nVidia QuadroFX but she can't afford anything that has a workstation card, so I'm looking to find her a relatively powerful laptop that can run AutoCad 2011 and SolidWorks 3D fairly well.

    Anyone good any good recommendations for a solid autocad laptop?

    I would appreciate any help you can provide!

    thank you,

    emiljan

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    There have been many threads on this very topic.

    Check here: http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...hitecture-2011

    or here: http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...D-Architecture

    Also check on Autodesk's website for minimum requirements for the software you plan to run. If you cut corners and try to do this on the cheap, you will not be happy with what you get.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  3. #3
    Super Member kencaz's Avatar
    Computer Details
    kencaz's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro, Vista, Linux,W7
    Computer:
    HP,s Dell
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    kencaz's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer/Machinist
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    759

    Default

    Here is thelaptop I am currently running on:

    HP Pavilion DV6-3052NR NoteBook Intel Core i7 720QM(1.60GHz) 15.6" 6GB Memory 500GB HDD 7200rpm DVD Super Multi ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650

    It runs AutoCAD 2010 and Inventor Pro 2011 fairly well with no degradation even when rotating pretty complex assemblies. It's not bad for under $1K. It's not going to beat my Desktop but I would hope it wouldn't since it does have a quadro card in it...

    Happy Hunting!

    KC
    Some of my AutoCAD and Inventor Pics and Videos...
    http://www.youtube.com/kencaz45



  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    which video card is better the ATI 5730m or Nvidia 330m? Also how does the ATI 5650m compare to the 330m?

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,199

    Default

    Most schools that teach architecture have laptops that can be purchased through the college/university bookstore that not only meet the requirements to run the software but are also discounted. This is the case at the School of Environmental Science and Forestry at SUNY for their Landscape Architecture students.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    We checked the campus bookstore and they don't offer any laptops for AutoCAD.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,199

    Default

    What school would this be?

    Most reputable colleges that REQUIRE a laptop for a given course of study (i.e. - architecture, engineering, landscape design, etc.) will either post a minimum requirements list for students purchasing laptops on their own or offer discounted laptops (like Dell Latitude) for the student to purchase.

    You can visit the SUNY-ESF website and look up landscape architecture and see what their recommended system specs are and then purchase something similar. It is a 5-year very intensive course and the laptop specs are different than those for the general student population. I know because I purchased one this past July. These laptops are purposely configured to run AutoDesk software.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Super Member Tankman's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tankman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro SP3
    Computer:
    IBM T60 Thinkpad™
    Monitor:
    36" LCD Monitor/TV, 14" Thinkpad™ T60
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    Take a serious look at the IBM (Lenovo) laptops. I've used them for years, work great.

    Smaller screen = Longer battery life.
    Last edited by Tankman; 14th Feb 2011 at 08:40 pm.
    Tankman

    "When the well is dry, we know the worth of water." Ben Franklin ~ 1746

  9. #9
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,811

    Default

    http://www.dell.com/us/business/p/precision-m6500/pd

    My company got me a Dell Precision M6500 with a Core i5-540, 8GB of RAM, and a QuadroFX 2600M. I use and abuse AutoCAD in 3D on large scale mechanical projects so this laptop might be a bit overkill for "learning CAD" during college courses. But, who knows, might want a stout computer out of preference. I know that this laptop performs extremely well for me.

    I would say honestly, you can budget an $800-$900 laptop that has a Core i5, 8GB of RAM, 64bit OS, and a mid-range gaming card and you'll be perfectly fine.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  10. #10
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    2,977

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    The Thinkpad Wseries are pretty awesome, and all their models (not just the W-series) are severely discounted right now.... I'm currently breaking in a killer W701 dual screen mobile workstation that I got for $1800 under list.

Similar Threads

  1. autocad architecture 2011
    By shaun210272 in forum Architecture & ADT
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31st Dec 2010, 09:05 pm
  2. Can I Run AutoCad (preferably 2011) on my Laptop?
    By HiGhGuY in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th Oct 2010, 12:15 pm
  3. Looking for a laptop to support Architecture 2011
    By melmis99 in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd Sep 2010, 05:45 am
  4. Any advice before buying a laptop to run AutoCAD Architecture ?
    By CAD-LOVER0208 in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 14th Aug 2009, 01:20 am
  5. Laptop Recommendation
    By profcad in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th Sep 2006, 06:54 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts