+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 66
  1. #1
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default CADTutor open for business

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Dear Friends,

    CADTutor is now open for business again. I have worked hard over the last 5 days to ensure that the site is more secure than before.

    Obviously, I can't guarantee absolute security and one of the things I've learned over the past week is that there are plenty of very clever, malicious people out there who have time on their hands and get kicks out of bringing sites down.

    Sadly, that's unlikely to change and keeping websites safe is a constant battle.

    Please let me know by PM if you notice anything strange on this site, particularly over the next few days.

    Thanks,

    David
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  2. #2
    Super Member MarcoW's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MarcoW's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Microsoft Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    A black one
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5520 Quad Core
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 580 - 512MB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB 10000 RPM
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    599

    Default

    Hi David,

    Thanks for all the efforts you do!
    Let's hope they will skip us the next time...

    Q: is it my PC or are the forum/images/icons/ not loading?

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,359

    Default

    And what to my wandering eyes did appear?

    Thank you David for all your hard work. I, for one, missed CADTutor quite a bit.

    I hope we can safely say The Best is back!
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MarcoW View Post
    Q: is it my PC or are the forum/images/icons/ not loading?
    They weren't loading. The forum software has been updated to the latest version and there were a number of changes - including the way post icons are handled.

    All fixed now.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    CADkitt's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP sp3
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    146

    Default

    Tnx for your work.

  6. #6
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Thanks David for all your hard work and welcome back!
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,359

    Default

    Something still seems a bit "off" but I can't put my finger on it. What other changes were made to how this site works?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Something still seems a bit "off" but I can't put my finger on it. What other changes were made to how this site works?
    At the time of writing, the Google "attack" warning is still in place on the forum. I have requested a review, and that should mean the warning is lifted in a few hours from now. vBulletin has been upgraded to the latest version, which contained a number of changes, most of which are not obvious but some have lead to minor cosmetic changes. All the coding on the site has been reviewed and any security vulnerabilities plugged. Actually, there are quite a lot of changes in the way the site works but for obvious reasons I'd rather not specify here.

    When you say 'a bit "off"', what do you mean?
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  9. #9
    Super Member JPlanera's Avatar
    Computer Details
    JPlanera's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 x64
    Computer:
    Dell T7400
    CPU:
    (4) Intel Xeon CPU X5272 @ 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    8G
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 570 & RADEON X6000
    Primary Storage:
    80G main
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB ext
    Monitor:
    (3) DELL 21" wide
    Using
    Mechanical 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    528

    Default

    I actually had to do "work" for a couple days.... Thanks a LOT!!

    It is nice to have you back, thank you for your hard work.
    You might be an engineer, if you tell people that time travel does not exist..... and then 5 minutes later explain how you would build a time machine

    Engineers aren't boring people, we just get excited over boring things.

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,359

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I certainly understand and agree that there are details that should be omitted.

    Something looks different but it is more a vague feeling than something I can pinpoint accurately at the moment.

    Pay me no mind. I'm sure you have more pressing things to attend to at the moment.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Which version for new business?
    By Kbak75 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10th Nov 2008, 02:07 pm
  2. Starting up a new business
    By bolton78 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th Aug 2008, 10:11 am
  3. starting my own business
    By bonny in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th May 2003, 10:18 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts