Scaling in Layout

JamesP

Hello

I am relatively new to AutoCAD but I am making good progress. Usually I manage to find solutions myself but I have two problems concerning LAYOUT that are defeating me.

I am running AutoCAD 2011 under Windows 7.

Problem 1

I am attempting to create a simple Deed Plan from a very detailed Topographical Survey of two acres of land. I only need to plot at a scale of 1:1250 on an A4 sheet of paper. The original survey plots at 1:250 filling an A1 sheet.

I have established a Deed Plan Layer and traced the outline of the plot of land then turned off most of the original layers so that only the minimum of detail shows.

The first part of setting up the Layout went smoothly. I had not done this before so I followed the AutoCAD video that came with the programme. I don’t have a plotter so I am using a conventional printer which I set up correctly with A4 paper.

However when I came to select the scale strange things happened. I set up a number of custom metric scales – remember I want 1:1250 (after this I will refer to the scales just by the second number to avoid typing “1:”)

At 1250 the drawing appeared to disappear or shrink into a dot.

At 5000 it appears to be sized correctly at 1250. Indeed when printed and checked it is almost exactly 1250 – or at least as close as a scale rule will show.

At other scales it is just as strange

At 500 it shrinks to a dot when it should be much bigger than the paper at A4

At 250 ditto. At 200 ditto. At 100 ditto but the dot is a little bigger. At 1000 ditto but smaller dot.

BUT at 1:1 and 1:5000 it appears to be at exactly 1: 1250.

So I can get my plan printed – but what is going on? Any assistance will be appreciated.

Problem 2

So I have my plan at 1:5000 showing up as 1:1250.

I need to annotate with a simple 4 line Text. I have established this on the Model at the right size (I think) and on a layer that is not switched off.

It refuses to show up on the Layout – well at least it used to.