+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    42

    Default Help moving the edge of a circle precisely to the edge of a line

    Using Autocad 2000LT and trying to locate as many 1.5" diameter circles as I can within a 21" diameter circle keeping all the circle .500" apart from any other circle and .500" away from the outer edge. Am using the aray function. Trying to bring the first circle up to the line thats .500" in from the 21" outside diameter. First when I zoom the 1.5" circle looks like a series of lines, not a smooth round circle. First how do I smooth out the appearance of the circle. Second, what comands do I use to move the edge of the circle to just tough the line so that when I measure from the outside dia to the far edge of the small circle I get 2". Thanks

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Not sure I entirely understand what you are trying to do with all the circles, but you can smooth out the appearance by changing the "viewres" variable. Just type in "viewres" and follow the prompts. It has a maximum setting of 20000, but unless your drawing is very small, you'll see performance degrade considerably with that setting on a larger file size. Start at 2000 and see if that takes care of it. You can change it up or down at anytime.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  3. #3
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,292

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by berol View Post
    ... move the edge of the circle to just tough the line so that when I measure from the outside dia to the far edge of the small circle I get 2". Thanks
    Where did the line come from?
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  4. #4
    Super Member Tankman's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tankman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro SP3
    Computer:
    IBM T60 Thinkpad™
    Monitor:
    36" LCD Monitor/TV, 14" Thinkpad™ T60
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    A bit confusing, 1.5"Ø or 2" diameter small circles? "viewres" will make the dia appear round like Jack points out.

    Array command, polar, will make as many small circles need.
    Tankman

    "When the well is dry, we know the worth of water." Ben Franklin ~ 1746

  5. #5
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,488

    Default

    Firstly, you can improve the appearance of the circle by doing a REGEN.

    If you offset the 21" circle inwards 1.25, and then draw your 1.5 dia circle centered on that line, it will be perfectly placed.

    You do not say whether you are using the array in Polar or Rectangular fashion.
    I can get 85 small circles inside. Any advances?

  6. #6
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    2,820

    Default

    I'm unclear whether the goal is to fit as many small circles as possible inside the large circles, or to fit the maximum number of circles inside the perimeter? My method was slightly different than eldon's as I increased the small circles by 1/4" and reduced the large circle by 1/4" to maintain the 1/2" spacing.

  7. #7
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    2,820

    Default

    Something like this?
    Attached Images
    Attached Files

  8. #8
    Full Member jwkilgore's Avatar
    Computer Details
    jwkilgore's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    29

    Default

    To directly answer the original question, I would draw a line starting a the center of the small circle and ending perpendicular to the large circle (or other line). Then move the small circle using the intersections of the new line as snap points.

  9. #9
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Maybe you could post a screen shot of your original set up (or attach the drawing itself). You know the old saying, "a picture is worth a thousand words". If we could see how you are starting out, perhaps your description would become clear.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

Similar Threads

  1. Please help ! Filleting the edge
    By Ling Wai Kiat in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th Apr 2010, 03:01 pm
  2. Line will not set on the edge of circle?
    By SFG13 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st Mar 2010, 01:58 am
  3. Can't chamfer edge...
    By mdbdesign in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th Aug 2008, 10:44 pm
  4. edge line not display (3d hidden style)
    By yiufaipoon in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th Jul 2008, 11:58 am
  5. Selecting an edge/work point from command line
    By devouring in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th Oct 2006, 06:24 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts