+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 57
  1. #11
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Either this pupil skipped a few classes or the teacher has no clue. How can someone who has attended class have so many inconsistencies in one small drawing?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  2. #12
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    mlbuxbaum's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Abingdon, MD
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daft vader View Post
    Also my friend when posting here try to save to 2004 so everyone can open it in older versions of autocad (unless it is something that older versions cant do), as not everyone has 2011 like me lol
    Ok, I was unaware that i could do.

  3. #13
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    mlbuxbaum's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Abingdon, MD
    Posts
    31

    Default

    also....dont flame me on this question,please. The drawing is supposed to 4" x 10.75" . I used the measure feature and my drawing is 4" by 10.74" WTF ? Okay is there a very elementary way to correct this? The teacher will measure it with a ruler on paper, so he probably wont pick that up, but i want to fix it. I think i can use the 'stretch" function.

  4. #14
    Senior Member Sittingbull's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Sittingbull's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7
    Computer:
    ACER
    CPU:
    I7
    RAM:
    6GB
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD 4600
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Brussels, Belgium
    Posts
    186

    Default

    Ive only had 3 classes so far.


    Hi there mlbuxbaum. Just wanted to encourage you with the drafting.

    I was going to drop the class and take it at another college, but now i want to prove to myself that I can do it even if he isnt that of a good teacher
    That's the spirit !
    "The universe and everything in it, is a fractal." Including us !
    Reality is the reflection of how the seed of life is arranged in our dimension.

  5. #15
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    mlbuxbaum's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Abingdon, MD
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Either this pupil skipped a few classes or the teacher has no clue. How can someone who has attended class have so many inconsistencies in one small drawing?
    I have not missed a minute of class, we have only had 3 classes so far. and most of the class is lost as well. I wish i could record the class and play it back for you guys. Everyone would be shocked. This guy has a very thick Iranian accent, and his favorite saying is, " you can do it like this or you can do it some another way". There are 2 other guys here at Black & Decker that took this class with the same teacher and they both dropped the class because he is terrible. I am going to the look into the same class at a neighboring college that they both transferred to. I think I'm a fairly intelligent guy and i'm not a young guy either. (42) I am taking classes to get my engineering degree.

  6. #16
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    mlbuxbaum's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Abingdon, MD
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Thank you Sittingbull. I appreciate the kind words

  7. #17
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,738

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daft vader View Post
    Also my friend when posting here try to save to 2004 so everyone can open it in older versions of autocad (unless it is something that older versions cant do), as not everyone has 2011 like me lol
    You should have DWG Trueview to convert dwg. http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...&siteID=123112
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  8. #18
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Why don't you have someone at Black & Decker visit CADTutor and post a job opening for an AutoCAD teacher.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #19
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    mlbuxbaum's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 7
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Abingdon, MD
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Why don't you have someone at Black & Decker visit CADTutor and post a job opening for an AutoCAD teacher.
    we dont use AutoCad here, which sucks, becuase i could have some great tutors here if we did. They use a program called Catia (sp), which is my ultimate goal to be able to use.

    also, this question has been bugging me. If i draw a rectangle, of any size, does AC have an automatic way to find the center of that rectangle? My teacher said, no you have measure to find it. I would think that a $4000.00 program would be able to do that.

  10. #20
    Senior Member ccowgill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ccowgill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Motherboard:
    Sabretooth
    CPU:
    AMD
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    AMD R9 390
    Primary Storage:
    SSD
    Monitor:
    Triple Monitor system
    Discipline
    Civil
    ccowgill's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Engineer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Licensed Civil Engineer in Michigan, Indiana, and Ohio
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Hartford, Michigan
    Posts
    205

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    depends on what you mean by the center, for a rectangle, I can snap to the center by clicking 2 opposite corners and having AutoCAD find the midpoint between the 2 points.
    Christopher T. Cowgill, P.E.
    Wightman & Associates, Inc.
    Engineering * Surveying * Architecture
    IDSP 2017 on Windows 10


Similar Threads

  1. Thick lines on plots
    By maffpunton in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th May 2010, 06:49 pm
  2. Thick lines in plot preview
    By stahlhelm79 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 31st Oct 2009, 03:27 pm
  3. layout display thick lines
    By enelram in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th Dec 2008, 06:35 am
  4. thick lines
    By takaki in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th Nov 2008, 06:48 pm
  5. HELP... Lines turned thick in viewport.
    By JBullseye74 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd Aug 2006, 02:40 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts