+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Grouping/Trimming Blocks

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am new to AutoCAD from another CAD software (DynaScape). I am a landscape architect and I am wanting to combine multiple blocks (ie: shrubs, trees, etc) and then trim any overlapping lines/plines. Any help on creating and editing these blocks on AutoCAD MAC would be most helpful!

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    They (AutoDesk) left so much content out of AutoCAD for Mac that I'm not sure what you can/can't do. Try the GROUP command to combine multiple blocks. The trimming part might be problematic though since you'll be trimming differently for each area the blocks are used in.

    Is there lisp support in AutoCAD for Mac? I can't recall.

    OK...I found a link to a memo by AutoDesk detailing what is missing in AutoCAD for Mac. You might want to take a look at it.

    http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...inkID=15839490
    Last edited by ReMark; 23rd Feb 2011 at 12:49 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,821

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    They (AutoDesk) left so much content out of AutoCAD for Mac that I'm not sure what you can/can't do. Try the GROUP command to combine multiple blocks. The trimming part might be problematic though since you'll be trimming differently for each area the blocks are used in.

    Is there lisp support in AutoCAD for Mac? I can't recall.

    OK...I found a link to a memo by AutoDesk detailing what is missing in AutoCAD for Mac. You might want to take a look at it.

    http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...inkID=15839490
    Looks like AutoCAD for MAC is a cruel joke for MAC users.

    If you have wipeouts available try making them wipeouts, you may be able to use Solid Hatch.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



Similar Threads

  1. Grouping Layers
    By guyton in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th Jun 2010, 10:48 pm
  2. Blocks trimming lines on insertion
    By Ivan006 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 18th May 2010, 08:10 pm
  3. Problems with Grouping
    By NiceGuy8618 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th Jul 2008, 12:48 am
  4. Counting? Grouping?
    By fade2blackened in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 3rd Apr 2006, 05:09 pm
  5. light grouping
    By lukas in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th Feb 2006, 12:57 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts