Dimension Problem

Hey Guys, I've searched and not been able to find a solution to my problem. I'm a bit of a novice in CAD and trying to do some architectural drawings.

When I use dimlin to dimension an object, it offsets the dimension line and text as can be seen in my attached picture. I can mess around a bit and line it up properly using the reassociate dimension tool. This problem only started happening yesterday.

As can be seen in my image, I've tried to dimension the overall height in View 6 however the actual dimension has appeared too high. The other heights in view 6 were pulled back down then reassociated.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Especially if you could describe a solution in terms for a novice.

Cheers

Dane

cadhelp.jpg

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Jack_O'neill

• ReMark

• SLW210

• dane

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Osnap is on and in Model space. It snaps to the corners I want in the below elevation, but puts the dimension in the wrong spot. Are there any other details I can provide to help solve this?

Osnap is on and in Model space. It snaps to the corners I want in the below elevation, but puts the dimension in the wrong spot. Are there any other details I can provide to help solve this?

Could you post the file? Is it just in this drawing?

Yes it does appear to be just this file. File attached - I had to hack away at it to get it under 250kb. Hope this helps.

Edited by dane

Good lord!!!. The dimension problem is the least of your issues. I unfroze a bunch of layers in order to find out why zoom extents showed so much blank model space and was agast at what I found. I am not sure what I see, but it ain't real good.

I tried a couple of moves of lines. NOTHING is snapping to an exact point, in fact it seems as though it goes out of its way to avoid a snap by several units.