+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member Cad Monkey 2's Avatar
    Using
    Architecture 2011
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    100

    Default Importing Hatches - Script error?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am trying to import hatches from an old file.
    I know how to actually import them by adding a folder to the Options>Files>Support Files Search Path etc.
    I can get them to show up in the "custom" list, but my problem is that most of the .pat files give me an error message when I try to use them.
    These patterns worked fine in v. 2000 - 2002, but not so mutch in 2011.

    The other thing is that the original .pat file contained many .pat files written back to back, so when AutoCAD wouldn't recognize that file I tried dividing them up individually. It has only worked for one of the .pat files, the others give error messages.
    Any suggestions?
    I would post the .pat files, but I'm not sure if I would be crossing any lines with copyrights.

    Thanks for any help.
    Last edited by Cad Monkey 2; 24th Feb 2011 at 09:24 pm.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    What is the exact error message you are getting when you try using one of these old hatch patterns?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    245

    Default

    Make sure each file finishes with a blank line.

    Hugh Adamson
    www.hatchkit.com.au

  4. #4
    Senior Member Cad Monkey 2's Avatar
    Using
    Architecture 2011
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    100

    Default

    It says:
    "Error in Pattern File"
    If I continue anyway it says "Error in Reading Pattern File"
    One of them tells me that there is an error on line 39, but I don't see anything especially different about line 39.

    I did notice that the working patterns ended with a blank line, so I went back and hit "enter" at the end of the last line to start another line. I think it got one of them to work, but the rest still don't work.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    245

    Default

    You may have a file
    • containing a pattern whose name does not match the filename
    • containing more than one pattern
    • damaged by wordwrap or inappropriate text editor
    You may have a pattern containing a line
    • over 80 characters long
    • with an illegal character
    • that does not end with a cr/lf pair
    If it's not one of the above, post an example.



    Hugh Adamson
    www.hatchkit.com.au

  6. #6
    Senior Member Cad Monkey 2's Avatar
    Using
    Architecture 2011
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    100

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    It looks like it was the name not matching the file name as you suggested.

    Thanks, that fixed it.

Similar Threads

  1. Hatches
    By insight design in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th Jun 2010, 01:30 am
  2. hatches
    By moduloid in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 4th Jun 2010, 02:02 pm
  3. See through hatches
    By Drock in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th Feb 2010, 05:07 pm
  4. Hatches
    By DODGE in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th Feb 2010, 10:27 pm
  5. hatches
    By bjenk8100 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd Jan 2010, 09:41 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts