+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Methods to explode MInsert Block.

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    I've been given a drawing to edit and the creator has long but left the company. I need to explode the block in order to carry out the necessary editing however I cannot explode the block as it is an MInsert Block. I've searched the forums but I havent found anything relevant. I've gone through the list of blocks present in the drawing to check that the "allow exploding block" tab is checked however there is no block for the whole drawing.

    Is there anyway to explode the block and if so how would this be done?

    These are the blocks properties:


    Select objects:

    BLOCK REFERENCE Layer: "0"
    Space: Model space
    Handle = 57a34
    Block Name: "*U243"
    at point, X=-4237700.3549 Y=-1887128.2335 Z= 0.0000
    X scale factor: 1.0000
    Y scale factor: 1.0000
    rotation angle: 0
    Z scale factor: 1.0000
    Scale uniformly: No
    Allow exploding: Yes

    And yes I can realise that allow exploding is set to yes but exploding block to attributes does not work.

    Any suggestions would be appreciated!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,292

    Default

    Why do you think it is an MInsert block? *U243 sounds like an anonymous block. To explode MInsert block use flatten, selecting N for remove hidden lines, then EXPLODE.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks for the reply. I think its a MInsert block as when selected a box appears saying MInsert Block.

    Thats what happens when I try to flatten then explode the object.

    Command: flatten

    Initializing...
    Select objects to convert to 2d...1 found

    Remove hidden lines? <No>: N

    Unable to hatch the boundary.
    bad argument type: fixnump: nil
    Command:
    Command:
    Command:
    Command:
    Command: burst
    Initializing...1 found

    -
    The object is minserted.

    None found.

    Do you have any other suggestions?

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I've done abit more digging around in the drawing today. The file is a read only file, when I go into the drawing properties that Read Only box is marked however I am unable to un mark it.

    Any suggestions?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,292

    Default

    I see you used BURST instead of EXPLODE, try EXPLODE. If that doesn,t work....

    Search CADTutor, Autodesk, The Swamp and any other AutoCAD sites for exploding anonymous blocks. There should be some LISPs around for this, if you have some sort of oddball block, you may need to be willing to give them your block. Does this block have attributes?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  6. #6
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7500
    CPU:
    Xeon Dual Core E5503 2.0Ghz
    RAM:
    6GB DDR3 ECC SDRAM, 1333MHz, 6x1GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 3800
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    3,998

    Default

    Here are two I have found along the way, maybe one or both will do the trick.
    Attached Files
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    i too, hazz!

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    how to use BLKBUST explode minsert.LSP

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,720

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by namngx View Post
    how to use BLKBUST explode minsert.LSP
    The command for using the lisp routine is contained within the file and viewable using Notepad. Use the APPLOAD command to load the routine then type BLKBUST at the command line and follow the prompts.

    (defun C:BLKBUST ()
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Civil
    Jazzy1988's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draftsman
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Has this worked for anyone? Nothing here has helped me.

    ::EDIT::

    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...minsert+blocks
    Last edited by Jazzy1988; 12th Feb 2013 at 01:09 am.

Similar Threads

  1. Can't explode block
    By NiceGuy8618 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 10th Jan 2013, 09:51 am
  2. Explode block placed with VBA
    By wbluem88 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9th Feb 2010, 11:30 pm
  3. Explode block / explode text command
    By repelectric in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd Aug 2009, 09:52 pm
  4. Blocks inserted using MINSERT cannot be exploded
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th Nov 2006, 12:00 am
  5. explode block
    By wastewater in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th Oct 2006, 05:03 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts