+ Reply to Thread
Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6
Results 51 to 54 of 54
  1. #51
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    As all the drawings are on the intranet and I don't know which ones are going to be looked at effectively it is better to do all of them. 10's to 100's of the drawings would be looked at everyday by lots of people.
    I assume then you are using these as production documents on a shop floor or something similar? Simply having the old company logo would not invalidate the information contained in them. If your workers are using monitors to look at them instead of paper copies, they are most likely going to be zoomed up on the information they need, not the company logo. Everybody does it different, but it just seems like a tremendous amount of work for virtually no return. In a library that large, you probably have a surprisingly large number of drawings that haven't been used in years, and may never be. Updating those would be, for lack of a better term...pointless. I'm not trying to be insulting, please don't take it that way, but most of the places I've worked for would vapor lock over a project like this. Spending hours upon hours to make old files aesthetically pleasing? Never happen.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  2. #52
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    217

    Default

    Not if it is xref'd - easy and remember customers can see their drawings
    Also doing lisp routines can make the change over easier, but it depends on what you are doing. As you say you are not worried so why change what you don't need to.

  3. #53
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Grant View Post
    Not if it is xref'd - easy and remember customers can see their drawings
    Also doing lisp routines can make the change over easier, but it depends on what you are doing. As you say you are not worried so why change what you don't need to.
    True enough. Sometimes you just have to bite the bullet and fix something to change over to a different way of doing it too.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  4. #54
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Sheet Set Manager, when used properly, can be even better than utilizing titleblocks in a XREF fashion. Especially the extras, like Callouts and other referenced details that stay perfectly maintained. But that's for much bigger projects.

    If you can have all your titleblocks in one file using only multiple PSPACE Layouts, then use an actual Block and put it on a locked layer. Use the 'CTAB' Field for for your Layout names to automate things. Leave certain sheet specific information left out of the block, like a Revision Block, Drawn By, and Sheet Name, things of that nature. That way when something in the titleblock changes, such as the address or something, once you edit the block it updates across all layout tabs.

    Just all depends on your own use of AutoCAD is.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

Similar Threads

  1. Title Block Logo - Text into lines
    By jalbes in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23rd Mar 2010, 09:46 pm
  2. Can't see text in title block
    By evilCartman in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th May 2009, 03:13 pm
  3. Text in Title Block
    By ankurpraja in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd Jun 2008, 06:33 pm
  4. How to use bitmap for title block text
    By hyposmurf in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 25th Jan 2004, 02:10 am
  5. Changing Text in a title block
    By Camsec in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 20th Nov 2003, 11:21 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts