+ Reply to Thread
Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 57
  1. #41
    Senior Member Raudel Solis's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Raudel Solis's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Hp dv7 4073nr
    CPU:
    Core i7 720 Qm
    RAM:
    6gb Ram 2/6
    Graphics:
    1Gb Ati 5650
    Primary Storage:
    500 Gb internal Hd
    Secondary Storage:
    500 Gb External Hd
    Monitor:
    Built in & 32" External Hd Monitor
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    3ds Max 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Arlington Texas
    Posts
    475

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    yeah not detailed in my screenshot, it was just a quick sketch/draft to show my example of how ive seen buildings.
    steps
    Grading company comes and compacts the foundation earth.
    then a surveyor comes to the site and marks down all of the pier locations with flags. ive done this, and its amazing how precise this is.
    Then Pier drilling comes and drills 15-35' deep holes with a 3-5' radius and create a nice bell at the bottom whose radius is determined by the 1st radius
    and the rest isnt important... towards this thread i think

  2. #42
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Autocadstudent View Post
    Before i created this thread i had no clue what the "skelton" of a building looked like, i was not familliar with structural material. I did not now how to start my drawing.But thanks to all of you guys advice i cen see clearlly now. the images you guys posted helped me start my own drawing.
    I really appreciate the help i get from all of you.
    The very best thing you could do is if you have a friend in the construction business, see if you can arrange a visit to a site and watch some steel go up. If that's not possible, you might visit a site on your own, and simply tell the site manager who you are and what you're doing, and ask if it would be ok to watch from across the street with binocs, maybe take some pictures or something. Failing that, there are lots of pictures on the internent. Go to your favorite search engine and start looking. Some of the bigger construction companies will even put webcams up so you can see the buildings go up. This won't show details like the clips and such, but you'll get an idea of which pieces go up first and so on. Most of them have a "time-lapse" button that will show a movie from start to where they are now. They are pretty cool to watch.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  3. #43
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    52

    Default

    I sent the drawings for grading.
    I will start a civil drafting project soon(am creating borders and title blocks).
    i will start a new thread in a few.
    Thank you all. I hope i see you on the new thread. Thank you again.

  4. #44
    Senior Member Car5858's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Car5858's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7
    Computer:
    Gateway Sx2800-3
    CPU:
    Intel Quad Core 2.33
    RAM:
    8GB
    Graphics:
    Intel 4500
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate 500 gb
    Secondary Storage:
    Passport usb 500 gb
    Monitor:
    HANNspree 22"
    Discipline
    See details...
    Car5858's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    retired, disibality
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Tutor, AMA glider competitions.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hammond
    Posts
    373

    Default

    That sounds great, hope you rechecked everything.

  5. #45
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I need help with the structural drafting plates 2 & 3

  6. #46
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,363

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tamtmt31 View Post
    I need help with the structural drafting plates 2 & 3
    You will have to be more specific than that. What exactly seems to be the problem? Have you read any of the other threads regarding this particular project? I know for a fact that a couple of the threads have images that may provide you with some answers.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #47
    Senior Member MillerMG's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MillerMG's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    OPTIPLEX 3020
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Monitor:
    The two in front of me. Dude, I got Dell's
    Discipline
    Civil
    MillerMG's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    436

    Default

    It appears the person has found the help he needed

  8. #48
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I just have a quick question on plate 1 wide flange beam the demension giving in the w12x152 chart i have to convert them to plot ?

  9. #49
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,363

    Default

    There is nothing to convert in order to plot. The designation of W12x152 refers to a wide flange beam with a nominal flange width of 12 inches (actual width is 12.48 inches) that weighs 152 pounds per lineal foot. The beam height is 13.71 inches. Flange thickness is 1.40 inches and the width of the web is 0.87 inches. All of this should have been spelled out in supplemental data provided to the student or in the project instructions.
    Last edited by ReMark; 9th Oct 2016 at 05:51 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #50
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks i appreciate

Similar Threads

  1. Drafting Problem
    By racosin in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th May 2010, 12:47 pm
  2. 3d drafting???
    By dlxowhd in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 12th Oct 2009, 11:36 am
  3. I'm back... Really never left, but I'm back to posting
    By HyperPics in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th Apr 2008, 05:20 pm
  4. Cad Drafting
    By jony69 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2nd Oct 2007, 06:24 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts