+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Senior Member BenGoble's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BenGoble's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X4 920 Processor 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4.0GB RAM
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD 3870 (512MB G-DDR4)
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung HD103SI ATA Device
    Monitor:
    SyncMaster 940BW
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    114

    Default Crashing upon 'Pre-Processing' of High Poly Mesh when Rendering

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello All.

    I have a mesh which totaled some 25,000 faces (a contour map) which I've been attempting to render via Microstations inbuilt Luxology renderer. So in an attempt to get around this I divided the mesh into more manageable portions. However this still hasn't solved the problem. It is still crashing when I attempt to render the geometry.

    Machine wise I'm running a high power workstation 12GB windows 7 with 6 hyperthreaded cores (12core). I've got more than enough power but it keeps failing.

    Is there a limit to faces per mesh anywhere to resolve this issue or has anyone any experience. I've also upped my memory settings within microstation to 8/12GB and this has made no difference.

    Any Ideas guys?

  2. #2
    Full Member envisioncad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    envisioncad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro and above
    Computer:
    Dell Laptop Precision
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Madison, WI, United States
    Posts
    60

    Default

    BenGoble, 25,000 faces shouldn't be a problem. What version of MS are you using? (V8iSS2)
    Where did the mesh come from Civil3D, 3DS, or Rhino? I have had problems rendering models and meshes from other programs.
    Can you recreate the surface using InRoads, GEOPAK, or Data Acquisition?

    Try this
    Create a new 3D file from seed.
    Reference your bad file.
    Make sure the reference file falls inside or near the Solids Working Area.
    Use the Merge into Master command.
    That should leave behind any fatal or corrupt elements in the design file.

    HTH,
    Bob Mecham

  3. #3
    Senior Member BenGoble's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BenGoble's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X4 920 Processor 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4.0GB RAM
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD 3870 (512MB G-DDR4)
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung HD103SI ATA Device
    Monitor:
    SyncMaster 940BW
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    114

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Yes, V8iSS2.

    Initially the contour lines that defined the contours came from Autocad. However, all mesh building was performed in MS using the standard Mesh tools.

    I would now have appeared to found the solution to my problem. My model consisted of both a large amount of mesh and one large singular continuous surface that was extracted from the edge of a mesh and then extruded into a plane. This seemed to be slow to highlight, so I converted it to a mesh and it resolved the problem.

    Thanks for the help Bob!

Similar Threads

  1. High Poly Trees that won't slow your system
    By cDuck28Z in forum SketchUp
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1st Mar 2012, 07:45 pm
  2. mesh vs poly
    By oompa_l in forum 3D Modelling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1st Nov 2009, 04:56 pm
  3. Slow processing and printing of rendering
    By FIFTHTEXAS in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th Apr 2009, 01:01 am
  4. Use color faces, hatch or poly face mesh?
    By fitterhans in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th Jun 2008, 01:45 pm
  5. High Resolution Rendering
    By Dbass in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd Jan 2007, 02:17 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts