+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie Batman's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Batman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Milford, NH
    Posts
    6

    Default Penn Foster Oleson Village Project Check

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm new to this site and I was wondering if someone could look over my drawing for my Penn Foster Oleson Village project and make sure I was on the right track. i have attached it here.
    By the way, this site has been a godsend for this project. I don't think I would have gotten this far without the info I found here. Thanks for doing what you do.
    Last edited by Batman; 28th Mar 2011 at 11:27 pm.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,821

    Default

    You need to warn when you are posting something from an Educational Version. Perhaps you can post a screenshot
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  3. #3
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,725

    Default

    Don't worry about posting edu dwg file.
    AutoCAD gives warning when opening and CANNOT POSSIBLY INFECT another user's work UNLESS they try to use your work as their own (which is their problem - not yours).
    So in general, there is absolutely nothing wrong with posting a edu file.

    However since this work is a common assignment it might be likely that someone WILL try to turn your work in as their own.

    Without looking very hard I found a couple of duplicate lines - not good practice.
    Attached Images
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  4. #4
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,579

    Default

    Many times in the drawing you use three or four lines when one would do. Do not string lines end to end in a straight run, simply draw one line. Use the join command to make each of them one line. Do not draw on layer 0, everything I checked was on layer 0.

    If the lines in the center of the street were center lines then you need a layer for that with that linetype defined so they show as center lines.

    I don't know about the Oleson Village assignment so I can't comment on the project work you have shown.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  5. #5
    Senior Member Car5858's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Car5858's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7
    Computer:
    Gateway Sx2800-3
    CPU:
    Intel Quad Core 2.33
    RAM:
    8GB
    Graphics:
    Intel 4500
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate 500 gb
    Secondary Storage:
    Passport usb 500 gb
    Monitor:
    HANNspree 22"
    Discipline
    See details...
    Car5858's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    retired, disibality
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Tutor, AMA glider competitions.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hammond
    Posts
    373

    Default

    Batman

    I think you need to re-read the instruction for setting up your drawing.

    The layers and colors represent different objects in the drawing.

    Always post screen shots, not the drawings, this will protect your work.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,725

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Car5858 View Post
    Always post screen shots, not the drawings, this will protect your work.
    Screen shots would not reveal some of the problems indicated here - I would post the dwg unless there is something in the assignment specs that rules against posting the file.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    This project has been covered here in several threads. I suggest that you use the Search feature above and type in "Penn-Foster".
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Car5858's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Car5858's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7
    Computer:
    Gateway Sx2800-3
    CPU:
    Intel Quad Core 2.33
    RAM:
    8GB
    Graphics:
    Intel 4500
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate 500 gb
    Secondary Storage:
    Passport usb 500 gb
    Monitor:
    HANNspree 22"
    Discipline
    See details...
    Car5858's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    retired, disibality
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Tutor, AMA glider competitions.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hammond
    Posts
    373

    Default

    Yes, JD you are correct, but this drawing is an exam drawing that has just beem made available to any one taking this course.

    So I will have to agree to differ about posting this drawing. A drawing from Penn Foster should not be posted on this forum at all. Other PF students that frequent this site will have a free drawing that they did not produce.

    Just my thoughts, I am willing to help them by answering their questions. IMHO they should do the drawing themselves.

    Just to put this into perspective, How would you grade a project one of your students turned in that was not their own work?

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie Batman's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Batman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Milford, NH
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Sorry Everyone. This is new to me. I have deleted the file and have added a pdf of the drawing. I was actually instructed to draw everything on layer 0 and transfer it to the respective layers after. Not sure how to do that yet. Thanks for all the input. I have looked at all the info from this site. That's what got me this far. I was just looking for a quick overview to see if I was on the right track.
    Attached Files

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    The instructions should have you setting up all your layers first then drawing the proper objects on the proper layers. Why they have the student draw everything on layer "0" first then change objects to different layers later on is beyond me.

    Do you even know how to create a new layer?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. need project help for penn foster oleson village
    By Firligic in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 75
    Last Post: 20th Mar 2017, 11:13 pm
  2. Penn and Foster Structural Project Help
    By robxfinch in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 20th Nov 2011, 03:31 am
  3. another Oleson village question
    By Autocadstudent in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th Feb 2011, 09:09 am
  4. oleson village question..
    By armydude2211 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th Feb 2011, 04:44 am
  5. Penn Foster Oleson Village drawing
    By black31 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 16th Dec 2010, 10:56 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts