+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
Results 31 to 37 of 37
  1. #31
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    It is drawing out just perfect without converting/changing! thank you ReMark for the HELPFUL tip!

  2. #32
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Sure thing britt.

    I think whoever you talked to at Penn Foster did not read the instructions for the Oleson Village project or he never would have suggested converting the coordinates in the first place. The project really hasn't changed much over the past three years or so and a few of us here that have done it know first hand that the coordinates work just fine as shown.

    By the way, I don't think that is the PDF for the Oleson Village project. It looks like it is for another civil project that involves contouring. Maybe the same one Wendymoose is working on right now.
    Last edited by ReMark; 25th Aug 2011 at 11:13 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #33
    Senior Member Car5858's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Car5858's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7
    Computer:
    Gateway Sx2800-3
    CPU:
    Intel Quad Core 2.33
    RAM:
    8GB
    Graphics:
    Intel 4500
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate 500 gb
    Secondary Storage:
    Passport usb 500 gb
    Monitor:
    HANNspree 22"
    Discipline
    See details...
    Car5858's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    retired, disibality
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Tutor, AMA glider competitions.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hammond
    Posts
    373

    Default

    You are correct ReMark, that is the wrong set of instruction. It should be the AutoCad Commands: Blocks and Layers

  4. #34
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    12

    Default

    i am starting my oleson village drawing and am confused from the start. dont know where 2 start at this point. i want to put in my POB and benchmark with the BM#8332 & HAVE THE COORDINATES but just is not making since at this point. Can anyone help with someone confused from the begining. thanks

  5. #35
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Locate the benchmark by starting the line command and using as your start point the pair of coordinates called for in the instructions. Once you have begun the line enter the next pair of coordinates. This will be the end point of the first line. Create your benchmark symbol (if you already haven't) and place it at the beginning of the line. Continue as per your instructions.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #36
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    12

    Default

    I am getting the points of the benchmark but confused from there i am starting at coordinates 1421334.93,783207.62 but am not getting it from the even after looking through the book again for 2 days. Im not getting how to get to the next point that is 113.66 feet from the benchmark at N5 degrees27'23". i dont know how to enter these or if i have to convert it. Thanks in advance!!

  7. #37
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    The point that follow are not located by coordinates but by angle and distance. It helps if you use the UNITS command to use Surveyor's units (deg-min-sec). Your inputs will take the form of @113.66'<N5d27'23".

    This wasn't covered in the instructions?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. need project help for penn foster oleson village
    By Firligic in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 75
    Last Post: 20th Mar 2017, 11:13 pm
  2. Penn and Foster Structural Project Help
    By robxfinch in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 20th Nov 2011, 03:31 am
  3. another Oleson village question
    By Autocadstudent in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th Feb 2011, 09:09 am
  4. oleson village question..
    By armydude2211 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th Feb 2011, 04:44 am
  5. Penn Foster Oleson Village drawing
    By black31 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 16th Dec 2010, 10:56 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts