+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Senior Member harrison-matt's Avatar
    Computer Details
    harrison-matt's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Acer Aspire TimelineX
    CPU:
    Intel i3
    RAM:
    4GB
    Monitor:
    Dual
    Using
    MEP 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NOVA/DC
    Posts
    113

    Default Super computer and still slow AutoCAD

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,

    my computer:
    Intel Core i7 CPU 950 @ 3.07GHz
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 470
    RAM: 12 GB
    64-Bit Windows 7

    All of this and my AutoCAD is slugging around, now, I am fast, very fast. But am only as fast as my machine and with these specs I would imagin Cad would be more responsive to commands like move, erase, trim, stretch. But no...

    Is there any suggestions to get cad to working faster?

    PS it is a network licensed cad.

    Matt H.

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    43st's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 64bit (work PC)
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    RAM:
    16Gb
    Graphics:
    Quadro 2000D
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    71

    Default

    A few things to check..

    - Are you using the latest Nvidia drivers as tested by AutoDesk? I think this is version 260.99 for your card, but check on the AutoDesk site. Run the uninstaller and don't install them on top of the other driver.
    - Are you using multiple monitors? Try troubleshooting on a single monitor via. DVI connection.

  3. #3
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,579

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by harrison-matt View Post
    Hello,

    my computer:
    Intel Core i7 CPU 950 @ 3.07GHz
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 470
    RAM: 12 GB
    64-Bit Windows 7

    All of this and my AutoCAD is slugging around, now, I am fast, very fast. But am only as fast as my machine and with these specs I would imagin Cad would be more responsive to commands like move, erase, trim, stretch. But no...

    Is there any suggestions to get cad to working faster?

    PS it is a network licensed cad.

    Matt H.
    You can go through this, you might try 90 and 91 first.

    It is interesting how many people with i7 processors complain about AutoCAD speed. I use Xeons at work with no speed problems and my laptop at home is a dual pentium system with no speed problems.
    Attached Files
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    i7's are slow? Great! Just got a new CAD computer at work and it is an i7 quad-core 960 - 3.2GHz. Will be loading AutoCAD 2010 and 2011 tomorrow (Wednesday). Guess I'll find out soon enough.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,579

    Default

    Could I ask why you will install 2010 and 2011?
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  6. #6
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    i7's are slow? Great! Just got a new CAD computer at work and it is an i7 quad-core 960 - 3.2GHz. Will be loading AutoCAD 2010 and 2011 tomorrow (Wednesday). Guess I'll find out soon enough.
    There's definitely "something" going on that's causing fast rigs to be slow with AutoCAD, but it seems to be pretty random. I've got a first generation Core Duo XP laptop with feeble 64MB (yes, 64MB) video card that runs AutoCAD 2011 just fine, and a Win7 64bit, i7 Quad, 12GB Ram, 1GB Quadro that also runs 2011 just fine (it did just fine when it only had 4GB Ram also). My 3rd machine is halfway in between the first two, and it gets along with 2011 famously also.

    I don't think the people having trouble are necessarily doing anything wrong, or have inferior hardware, I just think AutoCAD doesn't like some configurations, and you won't know until after you install it.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rkent View Post
    Could I ask why you will install 2010 and 2011?
    1) Because as a Subcription member I can.
    2) To assist me with answering questions.
    3) I never fully adopted 2011 even though I had it loaded. Eagerly awaiting 2012.

    Do I have to uninstall 2004 from my home system? LOL
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    Maybe AutoDesk ought to publish a set of "hard" specs for maximizing AutoCAD performance. But I guess the makers of computers would not take kindly to AutoDesk recommending one system over another. Scratch the idea.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    harrison-matt:
    1. Could it be that your PC has a virus?
    2. Have you disabled search indexing?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Super Member Glen1980's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Glen1980's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    Custom Rig
    Motherboard:
    Work: Intel Home: Gigabyte B95M
    CPU:
    i7 4790K 4Ghz
    RAM:
    Work: 16GB Home: 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 GHz
    Graphics:
    Work: NVIDIA Quaddro K2200 Home: Geforce GT 960
    Primary Storage:
    Work: 256GB SSD Home: 500GB Crucial MX100 SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    Work: 500 GB 7200RPM Home: LAN access to drive
    Monitor:
    Work: Twin BENQ 22" Home: Single 29" Ultra wide LG
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Glen1980's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Technician - Residential
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    High Rise concrete frame. Low Rise traditional masonry construction Low Rise Timber Frame Conversion - Office, Schools & Colleges, Hospitals to residential flats/apartments.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Herts/Essex, England
    Posts
    695

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I also have found the speed of 64 bit AutoCAD 2011 underwhelming on my i7. It is a Dell with 8GB ram and a 512Mb graphics card and between Windows 7 and AutoCAD I'm not really finding it much quicker than my old XP laptop. The same machine with Ubuntu dual booted flies just a shame I can't install CAD to it.

    Maybe it is the pre-installed Win 7? Has anyone replaced the OEM versions with a proper full version install?
    "Remember Baldrick, we are not at home to Mr Cock Up" - E Blackadder

Similar Threads

  1. A Post Super Bowl AutoCAD Hip Tip
    By Lynn Allen's Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th Feb 2011, 06:40 am
  2. Computer Accessory: Computer Glove by IMAK
    By HyperPics in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th Aug 2010, 07:10 am
  3. Using Cad Duct/Mech, but super slow!
    By carveran in forum MEP
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th Jan 2010, 05:22 am
  4. A Super Bowl AutoCAD Hip Tip!
    By Lynn Allen's Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th Feb 2007, 10:00 pm
  5. A Super Bowl AutoCAD Hip Tip!
    By Lynn Allen's Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th Feb 2007, 03:42 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts