+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,448

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have a full version of Win7 Ultimate 64-bit that I get directly from Microsoft installed on my home CAD computer. Everything runs fine. No speed problems.

    My new work computer has Win7 Pro 64-bit loaded. Still testing it out.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  2. #12
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    1) ...Eagerly awaiting 2012.
    I had a present from Autodesk in my mailbox Monday.

  3. #13
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,448

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nestly View Post
    I had a present from Autodesk in my mailbox Monday.
    I'm jealous. Don't expect to see mine until April.

    Update:

    2012 arrived yesterday. Our administrative aide just delievered my copy! It's gonna be a fun day!
    Last edited by ReMark; 30th Mar 2011 at 01:08 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #14
    Super Member Glen1980's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Glen1980's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    Custom Rig
    Motherboard:
    Work: Intel Home: Gigabyte B95M
    CPU:
    i7 4790K 4Ghz
    RAM:
    Work: 16GB Home: 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 GHz
    Graphics:
    Work: NVIDIA Quaddro K2200 Home: Geforce GT 960
    Primary Storage:
    Work: 256GB SSD Home: 500GB Crucial MX100 SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    Work: 500 GB 7200RPM Home: LAN access to drive
    Monitor:
    Work: Twin BENQ 22" Home: Single 29" Ultra wide LG
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Glen1980's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Technician - Residential
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    High Rise concrete frame. Low Rise traditional masonry construction Low Rise Timber Frame Conversion - Office, Schools & Colleges, Hospitals to residential flats/apartments.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Herts/Essex, England
    Posts
    695

    Default

    My home machine has pro pre-installed by Dell. Might have to see how much a license of 7 ultimate costs, although as I only CAD at home occasionally might get home if it is prohibitively expensive.
    "Remember Baldrick, we are not at home to Mr Cock Up" - E Blackadder

  5. #15
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,799

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rkent View Post
    You can go through this, you might try 90 and 91 first.

    It is interesting how many people with i7 processors complain about AutoCAD speed. I use Xeons at work with no speed problems and my laptop at home is a dual pentium system with no speed problems.
    #'s 20 and 30 on that list will slow down the best of machines. I noticed the OP has MEP listed as the program used.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  6. #16
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,448

    Default

    Initial testing using Win7 Pro 64-bit and AutoCAD 2012 64-bit exhibits no speed related problems with 99% of the types of drawings I work on in my day-to-day job. The one minor performance hit I encountered was with a 38MB 3D drawing of a 3-story distillation column and all the equipment and piping that goes along with it plus the structural framework to support it. The problem came about as I tried to move the entire assembly 50 feet. There was a noticeable lag. I was using the Realistic visual style at the time.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #17
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,156

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rkent View Post
    It is interesting how many people with i7 processors complain about AutoCAD speed. I use Xeons at work with no speed problems and my laptop at home is a dual pentium system with no speed problems.
    I have an I7 at home and at work and I don't experience any speed problems with any programs.

    The only problem I have is with working on files on our server. Sometimes, with big files, I have to copy them to my desktop to work on them and then save them back at the end of the day.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  8. #18
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,448

    Default

    Laptop users take note. Most laptops can benefit from a change in the Power Plan Profile from "Balanced" (Windows default setting) to "High Performance". Microsoft does not make this easy to find however.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #19
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by harrison-matt View Post
    Hello,

    my computer:
    Intel Core i7 CPU 950 @ 3.07GHz
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 470
    RAM: 12 GB
    64-Bit Windows 7

    All of this and my AutoCAD is slugging around, now, I am fast, very fast. But am only as fast as my machine and with these specs I would imagin Cad would be more responsive to commands like move, erase, trim, stretch. But no...

    Is there any suggestions to get cad to working faster?

    PS it is a network licensed cad.

    Matt H.
    Look man... what you wrote tells us only 50% of what kind of a PC you have. I will try to explain you and everyone else here, why is that so:

    1. do you have a good cooler on your CPU? The serial ones are worth nothing and they will not manage to cool your CPU as they should. Unsufficient cooling leads into slowing down and heating up your processor. I suggest you to buy SCYTHE MUGEN 2 cooler or any other above 50$.

    2. What brand of GTX470? Gigabyte, Gainward, Point of view, Sparkle... ??? THEY ARE DIFFERENT!! By different I mean that some have better cooling system, some have 700MHZ of GPU Clockspeed, others have 607 and they are all GTX470 but from a different manufacturer. See??!!

    3. RAM 12GB means nothing. It's like you would say you have a Toyota RAV4. Tells us nothing. What engine, how many HP, with AC or without it, with alu rims or not, etc etc... It's the same in RAM. What latency, voltage, capacity, speed?? If you have latency 9 and speed 1333Mhz, it wouldn't surprise me that your PC is slow in Autocad. For example take a look of this site:
    http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.ph...1&limitstart=5

    Here you will see that 12GB really doesn't help much nor say much.

    4. What hard drive do you have? If you're using a green version of Western Digital you should be lucky that your PC still works. Don't use green version for your operating hard drive never ever because it will broke sooner than you expect! Such hard drives are meant for storage only. For you it would be the best if you would have your Autocad on SSD disk, maybe on Crucial or OCZ Vertex3. If you find it too expensive, use WD Black Caviar version. I assume that your motherboard doesn't have SATA600 controler, so go for SATA300.

    5. Power supply... if it does not produce enough power, the program will not work as it should and in some cases, energy variations are seen which is really, really bad for your PC. It's like you would be put to an area with +50°C and then after 1 minute, to an area with -50°C and then again back there etc x 100 times.. I mean, it would make you so ill that eventually you would die!

    So as you see... when buying a PC, there's so many things you have to pay attention and things like GTX470, 12GB of RAM really tell you nothing. I hope this helps you a bit in understanding and knowing what might cause this problem of yours. Do some research.

  10. #20
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    MDrawings's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus something
    CPU:
    i7 860
    RAM:
    16gb
    Graphics:
    Radeon 7970
    Primary Storage:
    2 x 120gb ssd's in RAID 1
    Monitor:
    3 x 24"
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Canada, eh
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Take a look at this site from Autodesk: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...linkID=9240617

    I was puzzled as to why AutoCAD would only ever use 13% of my total CPU during intensive operations.... Now I know.

Similar Threads

  1. A Post Super Bowl AutoCAD Hip Tip
    By Lynn Allen's Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th Feb 2011, 06:40 am
  2. Computer Accessory: Computer Glove by IMAK
    By HyperPics in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th Aug 2010, 07:10 am
  3. Using Cad Duct/Mech, but super slow!
    By carveran in forum MEP
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th Jan 2010, 05:22 am
  4. A Super Bowl AutoCAD Hip Tip!
    By Lynn Allen's Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th Feb 2007, 10:00 pm
  5. A Super Bowl AutoCAD Hip Tip!
    By Lynn Allen's Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th Feb 2007, 03:42 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts