How to change 2009's layout to a "classical layout"?

Zzap

Click the arrow near the top left where it says "2D Drafting and Annotation" or the "Gear" icon near the bottom right. They're called "workspaces" now.

Also, welcome to Cadtutor

Workspaces.jpg

Ok... this looks nothing like the screen I have. I don't have model tab nor layout tab. The version I'm using is entirely new (not my computer, btw). It's one of Acad's new enhanced versions of layout... I'm looking for the "classic (old style)" version that has the screen shot like you have, Nestly. I've hit every menu available to me, including using the help function. It's as though the classic screen is entirely unavailable to me. I'm no novice at Autocad, been work'n autocad since release 14. I know where everything is with the screen shot you have shown but I"m in a pinch here try'n to convert this screen to what you have so I can pick up speed and get some work out. No one here knows this stuff, (they're all total novices to Autocad) which is why I'm brought in... but this screen is drive'n me NUTS!! I can change it on 2010 and 2011... where's the 'click' for 2009?

They did say that after they installed it the computer crashed and had to be restored by IT. The program seems to be lacking some basic functions (IMO) but it could just be due to it defaulting to the set "new and improved" screen autocad keeps creating with each version. I'm just try'n to get it to convert back to the "classic" view.

Post a screenshot of your screen.

Clean Screen (CTRL + 0) perhaps? Are you using AutoCAD for Windows (as opposed to AutoCAD for Mac) or maybe one of the verticals such as Civil3D or AutoCAD Architecture? Your profiles says AutoCAD2009, is that the version you're having trouble with?

How to post a screenshot:

1) Make sure AutoCAD is showing, then Press the PrtSc key

2) Open Microsoft Paint and Paste the screenshot (CTRL+V)

3) Save the screencap as a .jpg files