+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 23 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 222
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    52

    Default Civil drafting school project help

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Its me again with more questions. can you guys take a look at this image and tell me if am going in the right direction? am asking this assuming you guys have seen this before.

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    52

    Default

    here it is:
    CIVIL DRAFTING.jpg

  3. #3
    Forum Deity Organic's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,206

    Default

    I have no idea what you are trying to do. Perhaps post the assignment details or more info.

    So far it looks like you have drawn a (nearly complete, missing line top left corner) grid.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Am sorry i forgot to put that. this part of what plate 1 tells me to do.


    • Before you can draw the contours of the land, you’ll need
    to locate all the surveyed spot elevations on your drawing.
    The surveyors gathered 216 spot elevations. The spot
    elevations, taken at equal distances apart, run across the
    length of the surveyed area in 12 evenly spaced rows.

    Create a text style named SPOT-TEXT. Select
    ROMANS as the font, and use a height of 6
    and a
    width factor of 0.8. While still in Layer Spot, use
    the
    DTEXT command and type XXX alongside the
    spot elevation mark in the lower-left corner of the
    screen. Now, use the
    ARRAY command again to copy
    the XXX to alongside all the rest of the spot
    elevations.

    Connect the lower-left elevation mark (elevation 29.9)
    to the mark that’s 50 feet toward the top of the
    screen (elevation 32.0).
    ARRAY this line up. Note that in
    this instance, you’ll use only the Row option, and not
    the Column option, of the
    ARRAY command. (You’re
    connecting only the marks that range from elevation
    29.9 up to BM 312.)
    Draw a line from the center of the benchmark to the
    middle of the mark that’s 50 feet toward the right
    (elevation 93..
    ARRAY this line across the top of the
    drawing. Here, you’ll use only the Column option, not

    the Row option.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    52

    Default

    i dont remember inserting that "cool face"

  6. #6
    Senior Member Car5858's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Car5858's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7
    Computer:
    Gateway Sx2800-3
    CPU:
    Intel Quad Core 2.33
    RAM:
    8GB
    Graphics:
    Intel 4500
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate 500 gb
    Secondary Storage:
    Passport usb 500 gb
    Monitor:
    HANNspree 22"
    Discipline
    Education
    Car5858's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Maint. Mech.
    Discipline
    Education
    Details
    Tutor, lab assisant
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hammond
    Posts
    371

    Default

    Looks ok except for the missing line near the bench mark.
    Attached Images
    Last edited by Car5858; 2nd Apr 2011 at 03:01 am. Reason: Added jpg

  7. #7
    Forum Deity Organic's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,206

    Default

    From what I can see in your image it looks like you are doing it correctly so far.

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Thank you.
    Now I need to figure out where the contour intervals
    cross the grid lines between each spot elevation. am going to read the countour elevation part again and see if i get it this time, if not i will ask you guys again.
    Thank you again.

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,472

    Default

    You're going to have to interpolate the contours manually? That will be a fun task.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP,Visa, Win7
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    823

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    You're going to have to interpolate the contours manually? That will be a fun task.
    Makes the student appreciate Civil 3D a whole lot.
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

Similar Threads

  1. school CAD project
    By bdr2k5 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 25th Apr 2010, 11:44 am
  2. I need an interviewee for a school project.
    By AlwaysLola in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th May 2007, 02:33 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts