+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Long Island, New York
    Posts
    53

    Default Dynamic Blocks, Attributes w/ Visibility States, and Attribute Edit

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am using AutoCAD 2006 and I created a dynamic block that has 4 attributes and 2 visibility states. Two of the attributes are visible in one state, while the other two are invisible. After toggling the visibility states, the two invisible attributes become visible, and the two visible attributes become invisible.

    When I insert the block, or when I use the Attribute Edit command, I only can access the attributes that are visible. The invisible-state attributes do not show up. I would like to enter all attribute infomation at one time, and then turn on/off the visibility as needed.

    Question: Can all of the visible and invisible attributes be inputed/edited at one time without having to change the visiblity states?

    Thank you for any help.
    Ray

  2. #2
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Kenley, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    5,644

    Default

    no solution from me. My only response is to say that I have never successfully combined visibility states and attributes. I often get close to what I want but I have found the behaviour erratic. I am sure there is some logic which will make them behave how I expect but I haven't uncovered it yet. If you do get this working please post your findings!
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Long Island, New York
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Thank you for your post, Dave. I think I tried every combination and permutation I could think of... locking attributes, turning verify on/off, chaining, etc., with no luck. I searched most of the internet on the topic, and now it's becoming a mission.

    NBC posted a sample dynamic block that comes closer than anything else I have found (the link is below). In his example, he created an extra visibility state that includes all attributes turned on. During dynamic-block insertion, the attribute prompts are all visible. After entering the attribute data, the extra steps to select the desired visibility option are required. Not exactly what I was trying to do, but it's a functional workaround in the meantime.

    Maybe a "reactor" to set the correct visibility state after all attributes are entered? Also, it seems that NBC might have been using "fields." Two topics I have to learn about.

    If I come across something, I will post it, but it doesn't look good.

    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...Dynamic-Blocks

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    17

    Default

    I've just made up something pretty similar, it's just a nozzle table with some values for the nozzle number and the allowable force on them... I've just done them as attributes as their own block, in the nozzle block... For the information for extra nozzles, the person inserting the data just copies the first row down and edits as required... I'll throw it on here so you have a better understanding.

    Have a look at the visibility triangle... and notice how the attributes are just on their own -- too many hassles trying to do what you're doing so I'm just gonna leave it how it is.
    Attached Files

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Just had a quick go at adding the attributes in to the nozzle block, and doing all the visibility etc... I get the same problem as you... Mine aren't showing in the drawing, but in the block editor they're there.... I think it's because they kind of have conflicting information whether to show or not.

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Have you tried adding a visibility layer with everything on? I have tried this with text. It may work with attributes.

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi all you want is on here https://youtu.be/sHFhcIHuLSg

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Paradonk - Thanks! That's an awesome video. Now, I just need to find a way to implement it into my ideas.

Similar Threads

  1. Visibility Parameters containing attributes within Dynamic Blocks
    By NBC in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th Jul 2011, 10:25 am
  2. visibility states and moving attributes
    By chelsea1307 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd Jun 2010, 08:51 pm
  3. Attributes and Visibility States
    By foster in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd Jun 2010, 08:53 pm
  4. BLOCKREPLACE with Dynamic Blocks & Visibility States
    By MikeS in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29th May 2009, 05:49 pm
  5. Visibility States in Dynamic Blocks
    By GE13579 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6th Jun 2008, 05:08 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts