+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Super Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    705

    Default AutoCAD Find/Replace can not find strings with a Dash in them?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    AutoCAD 2010 Find/Replace feature.

    I have notice that when I try to find/replace a string with a dash "-" in it that AutoCAD will not find it.
    If I remove the dash from the string AutoCAD Find/replace will work. Is there a fix for this
    problem?

    Thank you,

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2019
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,095

    Default

    I don't have any such problem and I use FIND often. AutoCAD 2011 though. I don't remember 2010 having any issues at all.

    Have you tried the FILTER tool, just as an alternative option?
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  3. #3
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,758

    Default

    2009 LT can do it. No filters. Sure you are searching the "Entire Drawing"?

    I know there are a few special characters that give the Find thingy a fit, but "-" isn't one of them.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Organic's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,338

    Default

    I have no trouble doing the above to text or mtext in AutoCad 2010.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,758

    Default

    Looks like we can't find a problem yet. Never had the issue so it's hard to figure what the fix might be.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,833

    Default

    Visit http://www.cadforum.cz/cadforum_en/default.asp

    Go to Downloads > CAD Utilities. Find and download this:

    srxTEXT - search and replace AutoCAD drawing texts using regular expressions, supports batch scripts, table replacements, numeric intervals (trial).
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You can use RegexReplace program add-on for .NET available from Tumpliner.com. It's free.

Similar Threads

  1. VBA - Find and Replace
    By -KarL- in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th Jan 2013, 04:37 pm
  2. Find & Replace
    By dbroada in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26th Jun 2010, 09:54 am
  3. Find and Replace
    By gil9166 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd Aug 2009, 10:37 pm
  4. find and replace
    By cooldude in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th Jun 2008, 01:24 am
  5. Find/Replace in AutoCAD 2007
    By Aries7 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th Oct 2007, 05:53 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts