+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 25 of 25

Thread: Huge scan files

  1. #21
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CyberAngel View Post
    Sorry about that.
    No apology necessary. Just couldn't resist razzin' ya about it a little though!
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  2. #22
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Motherboard:
    Intel DZ77RE-75K
    CPU:
    i7-3770K 3.50GHz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 2000
    Primary Storage:
    125GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    500GB SATA
    Monitor:
    ASUS 27" / ASUS 24"
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    3,879

    Default

    See, if you get enough people on a problem, anything can be solved ;-)

  3. #23
    Super Member irneb's Avatar
    Computer Details
    irneb's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 Pro 64bit
    Computer:
    Antec One Hundred
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P8P67-Pro P67
    CPU:
    Intel i7 2600 @ 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    16GB-1600MHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 430 (1GB)
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate1TB SATA2 - 7200rpm
    Monitor:
    Samsung 2333TN 23" 1920 x 1080 Full HD LCD Monitor2GW
    Discipline
    Architectural
    irneb's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Technician and Programmer
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Jo'burg SA
    Posts
    1,737

    Default

    If you cannot get the scanner to not dither like that, then you can always post-process the TIF through XNView. As an example I took your new.tif:
    1. Then converted it into a True Colour (i.e. 24bit) so the filters would work on it.
    2. Used a Filter-->Efect-->Soften 100
    3. Image-->Adjust-->Brightnes/Contrast/etc.
      1. Brightness -50
      2. Contrast +75
    4. Image-->Convert to Binary-->Binary (No dither)
    The result is attached. You could even save these steps as a batch-mode script for XNView, so you can run it on selected TIFs without needing to open each in turn.

    You could try some other values / filters / adjustments for better quality. I just did this quickly, so it's probably not optimal at all.
    Attached Files

  4. #24
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 330
    Discipline
    Civil
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,003

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by irneb View Post
    You could even save these steps as a batch-mode script for XNView, so you can run it on selected TIFs without needing to open each in turn.

    You could try some other values / filters / adjustments for better quality. I just did this quickly, so it's probably not optimal at all.
    Cool. Thanks!

    That scripting feature is another nice thing about XnView. And oh yeah, it's free.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  5. #25
    Super Member irneb's Avatar
    Computer Details
    irneb's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 Pro 64bit
    Computer:
    Antec One Hundred
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P8P67-Pro P67
    CPU:
    Intel i7 2600 @ 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    16GB-1600MHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 430 (1GB)
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate1TB SATA2 - 7200rpm
    Monitor:
    Samsung 2333TN 23" 1920 x 1080 Full HD LCD Monitor2GW
    Discipline
    Architectural
    irneb's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Technician and Programmer
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Jo'burg SA
    Posts
    1,737

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by CyberAngel View Post
    Cool. Thanks!

    That scripting feature is another nice thing about XnView. And oh yeah, it's free.
    You're welcome!

    I also like XN's batch processing! IMO it's way beyond anything I've seen in any of the other image manager apps (ACDSee, IrfanView, Fastone, etc.), even the paid-for ACDSee Pro 2 is rather limited in comparison! You can literally do absolutely everything you could in the editor, in any order you choose, even use plugins! This is definately one of those free proggies which surpasses the pay-for stuff. It even works perfectly with ICC colour profiles (unlike ACDSee which screws them up), which comes in handy when Photoshop saves those CMYK JPGs / embeds profiles in JPG/TIF - no colour shifting as the conversion to RGB / HSV / etc. is much more accurate!

    But probably the feature I use 60% of the time in XN is its batch-rename. Even here it's on-par with (if not better than) ACDSee. And then the 2nd most used feature is the batch print, which even works on PDFs (and if you buy the CAD addon on DWG/DWF as well) - although here I like ACDSee's previews more since they're larger, but that's the only + for paying for it, the rest of ACDSee's printing is rather mediocre in comparison. Most wonderfully, there's a native Linux version of XN as well - so I don't need to reboot / VM / WINE to run it!

Similar Threads

  1. Huge Drawing Files
    By Brookhill in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11th Jul 2010, 11:35 pm
  2. What Virus scan does everyone recommend??
    By MikeP in forum Catch All
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 8th Jan 2010, 11:45 am
  3. 3d scan
    By Weejy in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 13th Dec 2007, 12:52 pm
  4. Is it possible to scan a drawing and convert it to a .dwg?
    By Steve Dave in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd Aug 2006, 01:24 pm
  5. DXF creates huge files (sometimes) using AutoCAD2002
    By Hazdaz in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th Oct 2004, 02:32 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts