Easy tadpoles

Noody

Hi

I'm an archaeologist and fairly new to CAD. I want to be able to easily insert a tadpole (what we call a hachure) between two selected points so it automatically scales and orientates betwen the two points, so you end up with something like the attached when you've done it a few times. Is there any easy way to do this? I've seen a couple of thread on LISPs which seem to suggest you can but as I'm a newbie and know nothing about programming it don't really understand.

Any help is much appreciated.

CAD hach.dwg

CAD hach2004.dwg

Edited by Noody
added 2004 version attachment

i'm sorry i can't open this (it's a newer version) but a screenshot or saved-down version would help.

from what i know a LISP is what you need, for easy insertion, scale and orientation. otherwise this needs to be done as three separate commands. if i'm right (others will answer soon too) some else will help you with the lisp code i expect - and maybe a mod should move this thread to the lisp section?

welcome to CADTutor!

Welcome to CADTutor Noody,

I did it in a LISP routine for placing embankment symbols. In principle its possible but as Stuart said a screen shot would be helpful and as much detail as possible for what you want to achieve.

You may be able to accomplish what you want with a dynamic block.

true but that sounds pretty difficult to me - rotation easy but scale as well? okay maybe not that hard for you guys but it's beyond me.

oh, but so is writing the lisp :oops:

I guess that being an archaeologist, you would like to keep some control over placing these hachures, and not go for an automatic routine which may not place them as you want.