+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1
    Senior Member ammobake's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ammobake's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3500
    Motherboard:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon CPU E5640 @ 2.67ghz, 2.67ghz
    RAM:
    3.62 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro NVS 420
    Primary Storage:
    Confidential
    Secondary Storage:
    Confidential
    Monitor:
    2 X Acer AL2216W Monitors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    151

    Default How do I open a .cad file type?

    I have a file I'm trying to open that has a ".cad" file extension.

    I've been doing this for 7 years and I have never heard of a .cad file.

    Any help on how to open the file or convert it to a format Autocad 2010 will recognize would be awesome. Thank you!

    -ChriS

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    I dunno...did every search I could think of and didn't find anything. Maybe someone else will know.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  3. #3
    Senior Member ammobake's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ammobake's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3500
    Motherboard:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon CPU E5640 @ 2.67ghz, 2.67ghz
    RAM:
    3.62 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro NVS 420
    Primary Storage:
    Confidential
    Secondary Storage:
    Confidential
    Monitor:
    2 X Acer AL2216W Monitors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    151

    Default

    I'm assuming it was made by another CAD program (microstation perhaps?).

    In the file properties under "file type" it sais "CAD file".

    Autocad doesn't recognize it in this format.

    -ChriS

  4. #4
    Senior Member ammobake's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ammobake's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3500
    Motherboard:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon CPU E5640 @ 2.67ghz, 2.67ghz
    RAM:
    3.62 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro NVS 420
    Primary Storage:
    Confidential
    Secondary Storage:
    Confidential
    Monitor:
    2 X Acer AL2216W Monitors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    151

    Default

    From what I've been able to tell, the ".cad" file extension is a "Quickcad CAD Drawing" which is technically an Autodesk product.

    You would think if QuickCAD could open it, full blown Autocad would be able to as well. Unfortunately, it's never really that simple.

    I've tried inserting it as a block, inserting it as an OLE object, everything I can think of. I've also tried inserting it as an XREF into modelspace but the XREF manager doesn't even recognize the file type.

    -ChriS

  5. #5
    Full Member Quagga's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Quagga's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
    Computer:
    Acer Travelmate
    Motherboard:
    Asus- don't know the number off hand
    CPU:
    intel core 2 duo
    RAM:
    4 gig
    Graphics:
    mobile intel 4 chipset express family
    Primary Storage:
    ata st9250827as 250 gig
    Secondary Storage:
    iomega 250 gig
    Monitor:
    built-in tft
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Lancaster U.K.
    Posts
    43

    Default

    Hi, If I remember .cad extension was for QuickCAD, maybe Autodesk still has it?

    Cheers

    Al

  6. #6
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    I've never used Microstation but if I remember correctly it generates a .dgn file extension.

    There are dozens of little cad companies out there now. It will turn up evenutally.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  7. #7
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    I don't know if the download still works, but you can download quickcad 7 from Cnet here: http://download.cnet.com/Autodesk-Qu...6_4-19026.html

    Maybe it will work as a trial version and export a dxf or something.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  8. #8
    Forum Deity Organic's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,090

    Default

    A few programs using that are listed here: http://filext.com/file-extension/CAD

  9. #9
    Senior Member ammobake's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ammobake's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3500
    Motherboard:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon CPU E5640 @ 2.67ghz, 2.67ghz
    RAM:
    3.62 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro NVS 420
    Primary Storage:
    Confidential
    Secondary Storage:
    Confidential
    Monitor:
    2 X Acer AL2216W Monitors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    151

    Default

    I'm really amazed by this whole situation (not trying to be cynical about it either).

    Autodesk uses a file format in quickcad that isn't recognized in full blown Autocad?

    Yesterday, I realized Quickcad can still save the file as a DWG so I was at least able to request the file in DWG format from the contractor. But that's really beside point.

    If your company has multiple seats of Autocad and you're spending that much money on software, One guy with quickcad shouldn't be able to stop you in your tracks.

    I'll be surprised if I get the new file this week. In the meantime, the time being wasted is caused by the fact that Autodesk uses a file format that is incompatible with their own premier CAD workhorse. What in the world?

    -Chris

  10. #10
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    9,892

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ammobake View Post
    I'm really amazed by this whole situation (not trying to be cynical about it either).

    Autodesk uses a file format in quickcad that isn't recognized in full blown Autocad?

    Yesterday, I realized Quickcad can still save the file as a DWG so I was at least able to request the file in DWG format from the contractor. But that's really beside point.

    If your company has multiple seats of Autocad and you're spending that much money on software, One guy with quickcad shouldn't be able to stop you in your tracks.

    I'll be surprised if I get the new file this week. In the meantime, the time being wasted is caused by the fact that Autodesk uses a file format that is incompatible with their own premier CAD workhorse. What in the world?

    -Chris
    What is so amazing? I fail to see how this could be the fault of Autodesk. Quickcad can save as DWG then the drafter using Quickcad should use .dwg for the file extension, if sending out files. Why would he send a .cad? Is there an agreement as to the type of files to be provided?

    Is this an older drawing? Autodesk bought out Softdesk which had Drafix Cad that used .cad file extension. There are still some other software using .cad file extensions.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th Oct 2010, 10:10 pm
  2. convert AutoCad file to type .csv file?
    By Copac in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th Feb 2010, 12:40 pm
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th Oct 2008, 09:40 pm
  4. How do I install an Open Type font?
    By Vince0115 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd Oct 2006, 04:30 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts