+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by gkeplinger View Post
    .... causes the company to continue to waste money on crap software.
    What compelling reason was used by the company to "continue to waste money" by purchasing 2012?
    Perhaps you should take your cost/benefit analysis to the CFO and so that this mistake does not continue.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  2. #12
    Super Member DANIEL's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    DANIEL's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Industrial
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Arlington Texas
    Posts
    1,005

    Default

    Ribbons get in the way of CAD efficiency in my opinion, the ability to use a conglomeration of commands, toolbars and ribbons is what's needed, until then ribbons hinder time efficiency.
    If you would like to help my 2 year old niece Alaina in her battle against Leukemia you can donate blood at any Carter Blood Care and put SPON050875 on the donor form. Thank you so much for any contributions in this matter that you can make.

    Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter.

  3. #13
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Why in the world would adesk make a classic option for acad and not for acad architecture?? FAIL Regardless of whether I like the ribbon or not I should have the option ACROSS THE BOARD of being able to use both w/out tinkering with the inner works. FAIL

  4. #14
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,259

    Default

    My advice is to learn the ribbon. I don't like it and don't use it but I am glad I learned if for this one reason. In today's economy you can find yourself out of work in no time and looking for a job. In almost all the places I applied for CAD job they insisted on me taking an assesment test prior to going further. And those darn assesment tests make the assumption that everyone loves and uses the ribbon. You will find yourself needing to know the ribbon if for this only reason. And I agree with most that one day, maybe 5-10 years hence, the ribbon or some form of it will be the preferred method to interface with software.
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  5. #15
    Senior Member caddcop's Avatar
    Computer Details
    caddcop's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP Tower- Dual Screens Windows 8.0 64 Bit
    Monitor:
    Dell and Viewsonic 22' Widescreens
    Discipline
    Civil
    caddcop's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Manager - Civil/Survey
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Working with Land Desktop 2009, Civil 3D 2013
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Maryland (DC Suburbs)
    Posts
    106

    Default

    Can you use the transfer tab in the CUI editor to copy a workspace from the AutoCAD CUIx into you CUIx?

  6. #16
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gurump View Post
    Why in the world would adesk make a classic option for acad and not for acad architecture?? FAIL Regardless of whether I like the ribbon or not I should have the option ACROSS THE BOARD of being able to use both w/out tinkering with the inner works. FAIL
    I think the bigger fail is the fact people still use AutoCAD Architecture when Revit Architecture is lightyears beyond in capabilities, not to mention becoming the standard in the A/E market at a phenomenal rate.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  7. #17
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    I think the bigger fail is the fact people still use AutoCAD Architecture when Revit Architecture is lightyears beyond in capabilities, not to mention becoming the standard in the A/E market at a phenomenal rate.
    @ stykface U hit the nail on the head. I couldn't agree with you more! At this point in time I have no choice (well, i guess we all have the choice) but to use ACA 2012 w/my boss. The inconsistency of drawings that are modified repeatedly between 4 or 5 ppl drives me LOCO. I've used Revit a couple times for CDs and using tutorials, etc and it's like using a lighter instead of rubbing two sticks together to make a fire.

Similar Threads

  1. Autocad 2010 Toolspace to classic view
    By christreeroot in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th Apr 2010, 06:03 am
  2. Classic View for 2010 Auto Cad LT
    By solofusion in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th Jan 2010, 10:43 pm
  3. 2010: Classic view?
    By ollie in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th Nov 2009, 08:28 pm
  4. Classic View/Menu
    By SoggyCashew in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 21st Sep 2008, 08:39 am
  5. Autocad 2005 Classic view?
    By Erkden in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th Sep 2005, 02:51 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts