+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member Kratos's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    18

    Default From ArcMap to AutoCAD

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have some ArcMap shapefiles that I need in AutoCAD. I don't have any issues exporting them to a dxf and then saving the dxf as a dwg.

    The problem is that I need the some of the data that is attached to the shapefiles. In this case, it's the addresses for the area I am working in.

    This might not be the right place but I just can't join any more internet message boards.

    Thanks,
    The GOS
    Last edited by Kratos; 3rd May 2011 at 10:50 pm.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,016

    Default

    See if this will help dxf to shapefile converter, other than that I believe you may need MAP 3D to get all the info.

    If you like I could place this question in the Map 3D forum.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  3. #3
    Junior Member Kratos's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    See if this will help dxf to shapefile converter, other than that I believe you may need MAP 3D to get all the info.

    If you like I could place this question in the Map 3D forum.
    That coverter looks to be going the opposite way for me. I have the shapefiles already.

    I would appreciate if you did post it in the Map 3D forum.

    BTW, i am using AutoCAD 2009 and ArcGIS 9

  4. #4
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP,Visa, Win7
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    804

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kratos View Post
    That coverter looks to be going the opposite way for me. I have the shapefiles already.

    I would appreciate if you did post it in the Map 3D forum.

    BTW, i am using AutoCAD 2009 and ArcGIS 9
    ArcGIS9 can use the dwg file format as is. Do you have the CAD Module?
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

  5. #5
    Junior Member Kratos's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Murph_map View Post
    ArcGIS9 can use the dwg file format as is. Do you have the CAD Module?

    I need the data from the shapefile so i can put it into AutoCAD.

  6. #6
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP,Visa, Win7
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    804

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Either AutoCAD MAP3D or this http://www.esri.com/software/arcgis/...ity/index.html or if you have an ArcInfo license the CAD tools are in the tool box.
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

Similar Threads

  1. Import Autocad polygon into Arcmap
    By montiff in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 17th Aug 2009, 10:58 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts