+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    Civil 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Somewhere between heaven and hell
    Posts
    64

    Default Delete unused blocks

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,
    I have an CAD file with a lot blocks which I don't use. I would like to delete them. So I do "Purge" which took care of some but not all. There are still a lot of "cannot purge" blocks. So I do "Insert", I see about 30 blocks. Choosing one of those, I can edit the block. (Doing the "Insert" was just my beginner's test step to see how many unwant blocks I still have.) I believe they cannot be purged because they are nested.

    How can I delete the 'cannot be purged" unused blocks?

    I know a lot of the blocks have other blocks nested in them. Is deleting the 'parent' blocks enough for me to purge?

    Thanks.

    PS: I only have limited knowledge with AutoCAD, so please be more specific of what to do.
    Last edited by salmonrose; 3rd May 2011 at 11:54 pm. Reason: Added info

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    217

    Default

    If you have a block or nested block in the drawing then you will not be able to purge them. You will need to get rid of every instance of that block before you can purge it out.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,819

    Default

    Use _QSELECT and use the different options available to select the blocks and delete them. Purge is not a delete tool, it purges UNUSED block definitions, dimension styles, layers, linetypes, text styles, zero-length geometry and empty text objects.

    ALL references to a block must be erased before you can purge the block definition.

    P.S.

    Do any of the blocks have names that start with *?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  4. #4
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    designerstuart's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Computer:
    various
    Discipline
    Architectural
    designerstuart's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    architect
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    ADT 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    near london, near europe
    Posts
    867

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by salmonrose View Post
    Doing the "Insert" was just my beginner's test step to see how many unwant blocks I still have
    i do the same, but i use RENAME. this lists lots of objects in the drawing, which i find better than using the design center (Ctrl+2)

    as mentioned above, if you delete all the instances of a block, whether nested or not, you can purge their definitions and they will be gone forever.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    18

    Default

    I have the same problem. It's terrible because the file size is big

  6. #6
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,879

    Default

    Purge renaming etc will not work !!! Very simple with CIV3d run PURGESTYLES this will remove unused styles this in turn allows the purging of unused blocks that are linked to a style as well as layers linetypes etc. Styles lock their child components. To get a style back simplest way is IMPORTSTYLES. Did one today removed 330 styles then purged etc
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Ski_Me's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL (why oh lord must I suffer)
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Ski_Me's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Fire Alarm tech
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Edmond. OK
    Posts
    619

    Default

    He may have blocks that were part of a xref those cannot be purged unless the xref is detached

  8. #8
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,169

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ski_Me View Post
    He may have blocks that were part of a xref those cannot be purged unless the xref is detached
    This information is not correct. Blocks from an XREF do not get inserted to the referencing file. XREFs do not increase file size by any noticeable amount.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    1

    Smile I am having the same issue on 2015 LT autocad!!

    So i have tried many things to get rid of older blocks that where somehow imported into our template. I can see them I hit Ctrl+2, some of the ones I want to get rid of have names like "A$C51A644A3"

    I have tried the filter option and the _qselect. Filter allows me to select those blocks but after searching each of my layouts and model space I did not see them. _qselect does not give me an option to select these type of blocks by name. They are not listed in the drop down menu and if I manually enter the name it highlights every object.

    Do you have any suggestions... i just want to delete every instance of the object... if it happens to delete something with it that would be fine just as long as the blocks are gone.

    Thank you if you respond I know it was years ago when you posted your comment.


    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    Use _QSELECT and use the different options available to select the blocks and delete them. Purge is not a delete tool, it purges UNUSED block definitions, dimension styles, layers, linetypes, text styles, zero-length geometry and empty text objects.

    ALL references to a block must be erased before you can purge the block definition.

    P.S.

    Do any of the blocks have names that start with *?

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,495

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    It could be that you have instances of anonymous blocks in your drawing. Please attach a copy of the drawing file to your next post. Someone here will take a look at it. If the file is too large then you'll have to use a file sharing website like Dropbox.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Delete blocks
    By mtunick62683 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th Jan 2014, 03:24 pm
  2. how to delete the blocks?
    By zainuddin in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th May 2009, 12:48 pm
  3. delete unused window style
    By blatz.boy in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27th Oct 2008, 03:36 pm
  4. about deleting unwanted and unused blocks and layers
    By alijahed in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 7th Jul 2008, 09:40 am
  5. Delete blocks in VBA
    By TroutKing in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st Dec 2007, 05:16 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts