+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 77
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    50

    Unhappy Scales, viewports, millimetres, m, plottinc confusion.

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi.

    I was up to 4am tryin to fathom this out and have deadlines looming.
    Despite having the manuals and other books I cant work out what settings I need.

    Simply put I want to draw some things that are about 1- 2m square and print on A1 at about 1:10. That feels like they should fit Ok.

    Now, what setting should I use? I worry I may have reset something my mistake.

    Can someone give m an idiots guide to how the page should be set up please?

    Drawing units are decimal- but should the block scaling box be m or mm [or does that not really matter unless I'm doing block scaling?]

    Do I draw in m or mm ? my drawing seem to be either too big or too small so when I open the view port and click 1:10 they are either HUGE or tiny. I know this isn't right and suspect it has something to do with Page Set Up Manager units in the model/paper space.

    Any pointers please? I'm doing a uni course and live 100 miles from campus and need to get this stuff printed by end of today.

    many thanks

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    Did you draw everything in model space at full size or did you scale objects much like you would if you did it on a drafting board?

    Did you use a metric template?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    designerstuart's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Computer:
    various
    Discipline
    Architectural
    designerstuart's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    architect
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    ADT 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    near london, near europe
    Posts
    867

    Default

    i don't have time to explain it all, i'm sure someone else will, but maybe the attached file will help? it's A1, scale 1:10, with a 1 x 1.5m box drawn in.
    layout.dwg

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    50

    Default

    I drew full scale. but i tried both m [ie very small drawing] and mm [ie very big]. Thanks for the file Stuart, Im just going to look at that.

    I strated with acadiso sheet? is that right?

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Stuart. You are a lifesaver.
    Thanks so much. That's just what I need.

    Is it really complicated or am I just a slow-learner?!

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    Model space: full scale. Good.

    Acadiso.dwt also good.

    After you scaled your viewport did you happen to also enable "display lock" so you wouldn't accidentally change the viewport scale?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    designerstuart's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Computer:
    various
    Discipline
    Architectural
    designerstuart's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    architect
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    ADT 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    near london, near europe
    Posts
    867

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Miniver View Post
    Stuart. You are a lifesaver.
    Thanks so much. That's just what I need
    no problem!

    Is it really complicated or am I just a slow-learner?!
    in my experience there are lots of things to wrong at the beginning. i think it's better if you just start with one that works, and learn from there! of course, do not expect to have your work done for you here, this was a special case where it was best for both of us if i just gave you a file!

    ps i locked the viewport at scale 1:10 but you can unlock it to change the scale if necessary (use properties palette). lucky as remark was enforcing the "always lock your viewports" regime!
    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    did you happen to also enable "display lock"
    Phew!

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    In my opinion AutoDesk does not make it easy to work in metric units.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    In my opinion AutoDesk does not make it easy to work in metric units.
    In my opinion, AutoDesk makes it totally baffling to work in Imperial units

  10. #10
    Forum Deity Organic's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,338

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    In my opinion AutoDesk does not make it easy to work in metric units.
    Why do you think that? I find it perfectly fine.

Similar Threads

  1. Line type scales in viewports
    By SREMO in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th Sep 2009, 01:45 pm
  2. Viewports and Scales
    By wayne_04_uk in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st Sep 2009, 04:43 pm
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th Jan 2009, 11:12 pm
  4. viewports and scales need help asap!!!!!
    By kaya in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th Feb 2006, 10:46 pm
  5. setting viewports scales from model to paper space
    By RDHOS in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th Jan 2005, 08:41 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts