+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 77
  1. #21
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    PS. Is there a really good book you could reccomend? I have Essentials vol 1 and 2 Training manual which is all exercises and bought Cad for dummies [which i find a bit annoying].

  2. #22
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,495

    Default

    If you text is already in model space then you should be using annotative scaling.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #23
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Thanks.

    Please tell me it gets easier with time

  4. #24
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,495

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dink87522 View Post
    How does using Imperial make that any easier or less confusing though?
    As metric is not confusing to you, imperial (ex. - architectural units: feet/inches) is not confusing to me. I know that once I've set my units to architectural that I'll be drawing in feet and inches. When it comes time to switch to my layout I also know what the two most widely used scales are for architectural drawings here in the U.S. (1/8"=1' and 1/4"=1'). That's pretty much a given. All I really have to worry about are my details and the scale(s) I'll want to be using. Besides, having been board trained (manual drafting) scales are a way of life for me. It's like breathing.

    I have benefited from working in other disciplines and have used both engineering and decimal units as well. To date however I can admit to only ever having done one drawing in metric units (a long time ago).
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #25
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Judging by the number of threads regarding working in metric units I would think the answer to your question would be obvious.
    Perhaps it is a reflection on how AutoCAD writes the help files.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Given that I can work in feet/inches, decimal feet/inches or engineering units at least I have three clearly defined choices. Eat your heart out.
    Does there have to be such a variety? Hardly a case for pride, more of one for pity. Metric, in one, covers all your applications.

  6. #26
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,495

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Miniver View Post
    Thanks.

    Please tell me it gets easier with time
    It gets easier with time and practice.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #27
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    50

    Default

    ..I have annotation switced on [the propellor symbol hovering over the text, right?] and the text is visible in model space at .2 but I cant see it in paper space when I check, which I guess means it's really small in there.

    Sorry to keep asking such basic questions.

  8. #28
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    50

    Default

    ..even if the text is huge in model space it vanishes in paper.

  9. #29
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,495

    Default

    The annotative scale of your text should match the scale you have assigned to your viewport.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #30
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks, Mark.

    I undersdtand what you mean about time & practice but as I'm not in a group situation [like an office] where there are colleagues to ask, when I hit a glitch which I cant otherwise find an answer to, then these forums are invaluable.

    Thanks again

Similar Threads

  1. Line type scales in viewports
    By SREMO in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th Sep 2009, 01:45 pm
  2. Viewports and Scales
    By wayne_04_uk in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st Sep 2009, 04:43 pm
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th Jan 2009, 11:12 pm
  4. viewports and scales need help asap!!!!!
    By kaya in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th Feb 2006, 10:46 pm
  5. setting viewports scales from model to paper space
    By RDHOS in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th Jan 2005, 08:41 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts