+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 25 of 25
  1. #21
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,892

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You should know the math involved in this, a good example is you need to calculate the clash level of a sewer and a communication cable 26.5 along the cable the guys in the field are waiting and the electrician has turned the power off ! Your calculator though does have batteries.

    Every day I learn something new, my grandfather said "the man who never made a mistake never made anything"

    A computer should be treated as a tool not the answer.

  2. #22
    Forum Deity Organic's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGAL View Post
    You should know the math involved in this, a good example is you need to calculate the clash level of a sewer and a communication cable 26.5 along the cable the guys in the field are waiting and the electrician has turned the power off ! Your calculator though does have batteries.
    Yes, that is a fairly common situation, although most people should be able to calculate that easily. It (communications conduit) also should have been identified on the long section also in the first place...

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Texas USA
    Posts
    103

    Default

    I was once told that everyday you learn something new is a day worth living. Or something like that.

  4. #24
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Not so fast!

    Quote Originally Posted by Dink87522 View Post
    Why would they make you even have to interpolate contours from that many points like that? No one is going to produce a contour map that way in the real world. It is good to know how it can be done, althoguh its real world use is limited and is carried out by computer software rather than tedious manual calculations.

    Sorry for the breach in internet etiquette by bumping an old thread, but I wanted to reply to Dink's comment regarding use of this math in real life. I have to do hand made contour maps for my job fairly regularly. I want to assure people, they should know the math. I'm here because I'm not too hot with math and when my boss handed me another contour map I, running on a couple hours of sleep, BLANKED! ReMark saved me for tomorrow when I go back in to work.

    Though I don't like math so much, it's always good to know it. Thank you ReMark! I think your post is the only one explaining the math on the internet (or Google's first search page, anyway. )

  5. #25
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,504

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Your kinds words are appreciated kiru86. You're entirely welcomed.

    Regards,

    ReMark
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Create contour lines
    By Nuttieke in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 7th Aug 2012, 04:46 am
  2. Is there a way to add contour lines?
    By McWaters12 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd Jan 2011, 12:50 pm
  3. Creating contour lines
    By mart in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th Feb 2010, 08:34 am
  4. Contour lines
    By cagraham21 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th Sep 2009, 04:47 pm
  5. Need some help with Contour lines
    By Rudbeckia in forum SketchUp
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th Apr 2008, 01:36 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts