+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member nidhi singhania's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nidhi singhania's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    32-BIT
    Computer:
    lenovo vista pc-y500
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T5300 @1.73GHz 1.73GHz
    RAM:
    2.00GB
    Graphics:
    INVIDIA
    Discipline
    See details...
    nidhi singhania's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Interior designing
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Interior Designing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Kolkata, India
    Posts
    101

    Default Seperate a model.

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have downloaded a file from net.It is in 1 structure, is it possible to seperate parts from one another?
    I checked, but it is not even grouped.
    Please help...
    I am not being able to upload the file as it has crossed the limit size.
    The details are not the details, they make the design.
    N.S.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    8GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    In a nutshell, I create 3D models from the client's CAD files or design sketches which I then use to produce high quality rendered images. Click on the link in my signature to view my portfolio. I'm always looking for work, so let me know if you need any custom models or renders. :)
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    8,909

    Default

    The last file you uploaded was a mesh, so I'm guessing this one probably is too. You will need to select the object, right click and then choose "Convert to Editable Poly". Once the object is an editable poly you will be able to select parts of it, in polygon selection mode, and then hit the "Detach" button.
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) --->
    http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  3. #3
    Senior Member nidhi singhania's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nidhi singhania's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    32-BIT
    Computer:
    lenovo vista pc-y500
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T5300 @1.73GHz 1.73GHz
    RAM:
    2.00GB
    Graphics:
    INVIDIA
    Discipline
    See details...
    nidhi singhania's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Interior designing
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Interior Designing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Kolkata, India
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Thanks...
    The details are not the details, they make the design.
    N.S.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Raudel Solis's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Raudel Solis's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Hp dv7 4073nr
    CPU:
    Core i7 720 Qm
    RAM:
    6gb Ram 2/6
    Graphics:
    1Gb Ati 5650
    Primary Storage:
    500 Gb internal Hd
    Secondary Storage:
    500 Gb External Hd
    Monitor:
    Built in & 32" External Hd Monitor
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    3ds Max 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Arlington Texas
    Posts
    470

    Default

    Some objects when converted to an editable poly allow the use of the element subobject level, which will seperate things by elemts such as different components. to demonstrate this you can create a 3ds max door from the create tab and convert it to an editable poly and then select either the glass or frame by using the element subobject level

  5. #5
    Senior Member nidhi singhania's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nidhi singhania's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    32-BIT
    Computer:
    lenovo vista pc-y500
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T5300 @1.73GHz 1.73GHz
    RAM:
    2.00GB
    Graphics:
    INVIDIA
    Discipline
    See details...
    nidhi singhania's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Interior designing
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Interior Designing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Kolkata, India
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thank you.....
    The details are not the details, they make the design.
    N.S.

Similar Threads

  1. Seperate model drawings, need help
    By Mg1971 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th Dec 2010, 05:36 pm
  2. How do i seperate elements after subtracting?
    By 123kika321 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 19th Jul 2010, 06:10 pm
  3. 1,000,000 seperate points to a surface- can it happen
    By 64lesabre in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th Mar 2009, 07:16 am
  4. how to seperate sections from 2d geometry
    By boyo in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th Nov 2008, 12:24 am
  5. Create a new -seperate- leader line?
    By Pablo Ferral in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th Apr 2005, 02:01 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts