+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default Color of crosshair

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi guys,

    I have been annoyed with the color of my crosshair for a while, I have my background set to black so the the crosshair is white. This is no problem in Model and over the paper in Layout, but when I move the crosshair outside the paper to the Grey area, I can't see the crosshair.

    I can't remember this being a problem before so it must be something with 2011 that I installed a while back.

    I can find where I change the color of the crosshair (Options > Display > Colors > Crosshair) so thats not the trouble.

    The trouble is that since I can't remember this being a trouble before, the crosshair must have changed color from White when black background to Black when white background.

    And I seem to remember that there was a color before that was called Black/White that was this exactly. It changed from Black to White depending on the background - but I can't find that option any more!

    Is it somewhere? Or has it gone way of the dodo?
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    I'm not aware of a solution because I don't think the paperspace background color can be changed, but you might try turning off the paperspace background (Options > Display > Display Paperspace background) or maybe tint your crosshairs.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    I have the same problem using 2011 on my home computer.

    What are you running for a graphics card? My home system uses a Radeon by ATI.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    I use a black background in MS with red crosshairs. Getting old, you see, need the contrast it provides. PS layout is white with that lovely gray background, but I can still see the red crosshairs.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  5. #5
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    Paper Space is black, Model Space is Black with Magenta crosshairs. No paper layout.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  6. #6
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    Quadro FX 880 M on this one (just noticed that my comp details are not updated at all - will change that soonis).

    I don't think its a graphics issue though, the crosshair is just always white.

    Noone remembers that there was a color in the standard colors that was Black/White? depending in your background it changed?

    Red you say Jack...that could be a solution, thanks
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  7. #7
    Super Member Tyke's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tyke's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64 bit, W8 + W8.1 Vista
    Computer:
    HP Z400 Workstation
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU W3530 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB DDR3
    Primary Storage:
    2x 500GB HDD RAID 1 and Western Digital 2TB NAS RAID 1
    Secondary Storage:
    Lacie external HDD 2TB Raid Level 1
    Monitor:
    Samsung SyncMaster P2770HD, 2443 and 193T
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Tyke's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Surveyor, programmer, civil engineer
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Surveying and civil engineering. As built utilities surveys and data maintenance in GIS systems. Building surveys, measured and laser scanning. Setting out of all civil works. Control and settlement surveys. Programming in AutoCAD, MicroStation, Geograf and stand alone applications for all uses.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Saxony, Germany
    Posts
    1,397

    Default

    You set the crosshair colour for PS and MS independantly.
    When you go to Options > Display first, in the left pane, select the Plan/Layout option and then in the centre pane the crosshair element and then on the right hand side the colour you want 'Black'?. Change the option 2D Modelling and repeat for the crosshair colour you want there.

    I like Jack's suggestion for red crosshairs in MS.
    Engage brain before mouth

    "The German who types with a Yorkshire accent" - Dave Broada 2o1o

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    Tyke, yeah that I can do. But the trouble is that I want to display Paper Background in PS, so I have part of the screen with Black background (the paper) and the rest is grey - and the white crosshair doesn't show up very good on Grey.

    I just changed the crosshair to Red which works fine on Black as Jack said, but the weird thing is that the crosshair then then turns to Cyan on the grey background.... perhaps rethink the graphic-issue..
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  9. #9
    Super Member Tyke's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tyke's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64 bit, W8 + W8.1 Vista
    Computer:
    HP Z400 Workstation
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU W3530 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB DDR3
    Primary Storage:
    2x 500GB HDD RAID 1 and Western Digital 2TB NAS RAID 1
    Secondary Storage:
    Lacie external HDD 2TB Raid Level 1
    Monitor:
    Samsung SyncMaster P2770HD, 2443 and 193T
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Tyke's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Surveyor, programmer, civil engineer
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Surveying and civil engineering. As built utilities surveys and data maintenance in GIS systems. Building surveys, measured and laser scanning. Setting out of all civil works. Control and settlement surveys. Programming in AutoCAD, MicroStation, Geograf and stand alone applications for all uses.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Saxony, Germany
    Posts
    1,397

    Default

    Tiger, I've just checked back in all our releases from 2002 to 2012 (including 2011) and when we have the cross hairs set to black in paperspace and have a paper background, when the crosshairs go into the black background that part of the crosshairs in the black background changes to white.

    I think ReMark is right about it being a graphics card issue. Also in none of our releases was there a colour option of Black/White for the crosshairs. I think that comes up somewhere else, but I have definitely seen Black/White as an option somewhere.
    Engage brain before mouth

    "The German who types with a Yorkshire accent" - Dave Broada 2o1o

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fjärdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks for checking Tyke!

    I think I have a lead on what the trouble is. I am sitting at home today and only use the laptops monitor and when I went to change back to White crosshairs now - lo and behold, it turned black when I moved it to the grey background!!

    So I am blaming the monitor at work - will take a long hard look at that on monday!
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

Similar Threads

  1. Crosshair color display in 2011 paperspace makes it hard to see
    By jasongetsdown in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st Oct 2010, 05:29 pm
  2. AutoCAD Layout Background Color to Solid Black or Other Color
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th Jul 2010, 09:20 pm
  3. Crosshair Color
    By Burner in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27th Apr 2010, 11:53 pm
  4. Help with Crosshair
    By lechols in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th Mar 2010, 05:50 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts