+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Senior Member Raudel Solis's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Raudel Solis's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Hp dv7 4073nr
    CPU:
    Core i7 720 Qm
    RAM:
    6gb Ram 2/6
    Graphics:
    1Gb Ati 5650
    Primary Storage:
    500 Gb internal Hd
    Secondary Storage:
    500 Gb External Hd
    Monitor:
    Built in & 32" External Hd Monitor
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    3ds Max 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Arlington Texas
    Posts
    474

    Default BackBurner Manager

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    ok so i have 2 computers 1 has 3ds max 2012, the other has 3ds max 2011.
    am i able to do a distributed bucket render?
    i am not sure if the computers communicate
    i got it set up correctly so i dont need help with that, i just need to know whether or not those to versions of max can work together in distributed bucket rendering

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,058

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Depends on which version of Max created the file and which version of Max is controlling the rendering. Max is not backwards compatible, so if you created the file in 2012, your 2011 version will not be able to read the file. But if you created the file in 2011, and 2011 is controlling the render, you probably won't have any problem. But then again, maybe you will. I've never tried using two different versions on a render farm.

    But why don't you just load 2011 or 2012 on both machines? You can load Max on as many as 10 machines, (more than 10 will require the "Manager" machine to be a Windows Server), as long as you don't try to activate or use the other installations. The copies that you load on the other machines are just used for the purpose of rendering only, so they don't need to be activated.

    You may want to read through these:
    http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...linkID=9241177
    http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...linkID=9241177

    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

Similar Threads

  1. Backburner
    By Kobbe in forum Cameras, Lighting & Rendering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 4th Jun 2011, 04:43 am
  2. UCS manager
    By jenlozier in forum Autodesk Software General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st May 2011, 05:55 am
  3. Error after upgrading from backburner 2008.1 to 2008.1.1
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th Nov 2010, 02:30 am
  4. CAD Manager
    By AEKDB5 in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18th Jun 2009, 06:30 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts