+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Text Spacing

  1. #1
    Senior Member tennis4you's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tennis4you's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE GA-G41MT-S2P LGA 775
    CPU:
    2 Duo E5700 3.0GHZ
    RAM:
    4 Gigs
    Graphics:
    evga g210 1gb ddr3 pcie lp dvh
    Primary Storage:
    500 Gigs
    Secondary Storage:
    External
    Monitor:
    (2) 23" Monitors
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    240

    Default Text Spacing

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have (2) piece of text next to each other. Both are set with their paragraph spacing to "Multiple = 0.89x". For some reason though the text is not aligning up and down with the text next to it.

    Basically I have something like:

    1. This is text
    2. This is more text
    3. And this is even more text

    The column of "1, 2, 3" is a different string of text than the words they are next to. They each have the same paragraph spacing but they do not line up. Any ideas how this can be resolved?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    12,111

    Default

    Can you post a screen shot?

    Sounds like you need to check your _MTEXTCOLUMN.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  3. #3
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,209

    Default

    Trying to format text in AutoCAD will drive you crazy. I'd guess that the text on the right is respacing itself because of the content. If you add or remove various types of characters, the spacing changes to "help" you keep the spacing consistent--for instance, add some parentheses and watch the gaps jump. There's not much documentation, just try finding something helpful on MTEXTCOLUMN in the help.

    If you're having the problem I think you're having, check your paragraph line spacing in the MText paragraph settings. Set it to Exact.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  4. #4
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Kenley, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    5,644

    Default

    can't you just use the auto number feature of MTEXT?
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  5. #5
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    12,111

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    _MTEXTCOLUMN

    Sets the default column setting for a multiline text (mtext) object.

    0 No column
    1 Dynamic columns with auto height
    2 Dynamic column with manual height

    I set mine = 0. That entire feature is a POS. If I need columns I will use a TABLE.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



Similar Threads

  1. Text Spacing Question
    By tennis4you in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 8th Jun 2011, 04:24 am
  2. Line spacing for TEXT
    By darrellk-1 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th Jun 2010, 08:29 pm
  3. Text spacing help
    By Mason Dixon in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9th Mar 2010, 04:22 am
  4. Text Spacing
    By Rosa in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 9th Jan 2008, 07:02 pm
  5. Text spacing
    By boofredlay in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th Oct 2005, 07:41 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts