+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    11

    Default Drawing paper space or model space

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Paper space was just introduced the last time I used AutoCAD professionally. I didn't become familiar with it and it seemed like an unfathomable concept then; at least from the way it was explained to me. I'm getting back into freelancing - and hopefully find a full time position in this area.
    So I did some drawing for this guy all in paper space...that was what first opened up in AutoCAD. After five hours and getting ready to send the files, I realize that maybe I shoulda done it in model space. Is it really going to make that much of a difference?
    If he wanted me to redo it in model space - is there a fast way to do this?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    fuccaro's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Mechanical eng.
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,577

    Default

    Try the CHSPACE command. It is an Express tool, but I am not sure if AutoCAD 2004 has it.
    If that fails: select all, CTRL+X, go to model space and paste.
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

  3. #3
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Model space is where I draw all the stuff, paper space is where I put my titleblock and notes and such. Think of it this way. Your model, either 2d or 3d, is sitting in a room. Paper space is the window into that room. You can have one or more viewports on the same layout tab or on several layout tabs.. They can all be different scales, have different layers turned on or off. They can look at different part of the model, or the same part in different zoom levels. Here's where it gets really cool. No matter what scale you use in the viewport, if you put all your dimensions on in paperspace, they will all be the same size! Even if you change the scale, a regen will fix all the dimensions and they will be correct, and still be the same size. At any rate, when you get the scale you want, you can lock it so zooming doesn't screw it up! Well, in 2010 it does, I don't remember if 2004 does it or not. I skipped from 2000 to 2007 and then to 2010.

    Feel free to ask all the question you like. Its a really good tool that you'll find great uses for once you get a handle on how it works.

    --Edit-- I forgot to mention the most important part! Using paperspace to set the view scale allows you to draw at 1:1 in model space. No screwing around with drawing at a particular scale. Draw it full size, then set the view scale in paper space to fit the paper you need to print on! Never again will you have to deal with accidentally bringing in a 3/8 scale block in a 1/4 scale drawing and having your boss look at you with that "you are a stupid fish" look (don't know what a stupid fish is...its a dumb bass).
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    What type of drawings do you do? Anything that needs to be plotted to a particular scale should be drawn FULL size in model space and a paper space layout (with viewport(s)) should be utilized. Technically, any schematic (usually not drawn to a scale) could be completely done in a paper space layout.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,268

    Default

    I will second the motion. For years I only played around with AutoCAD when I needed to view a drawing someone else prepared or layout a few simple lines and points for a survey. But when the time came and I first started learning about model/paper space and using viewports I was confused about the concepts, but only for a short time.

    Place a coffee cup (or any object) on your desk in front of you. Now form your hands and fingers into a viewing screen like a Hollywood film director would do when viewing a scene. Now slide your hands and fingers apart to simulate making the screen bigger and smaller. Then move your hands in synch closer and farther away from the object like you're zooming in and out with a camera. This is the same concept for using viewports in paperspace. You can open a window and change the size and shape of it, and then zoom in and out to enlarge or shrink the size of the object in the window. You can have custom scales or use typical ones like 1/4"=1', etc... And all this is done without ever changing anything to your 1:1 object in model space. It is a very powerfull tool which you should master and once you do you'll wonder how you ever did without it.
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    11

    Default Getting back into it

    Thanks VERY much for all your replies. I'm not sure why, but copying and pasting from paper space to model space doesn't work. I can copy in as a picture, but that will not work either.
    So I decided to start over in model space. Good practice for me...right! So somehow this guy's got the ucs icon oriented in what appears like isometric mode and the crosshairs are like that as well. I attached screenshot; crosshairs next to it. Isometric snap is not on. Only x and y axis are visible, unless he's got z pointing straight out.
    As far as I can tell, this is a 2D drawing. So the ucs icon and I are both disoriented. Any clues as to what might be going on here? I guess I'm still a little rusty on some things, but hopefull will get back up to speed soon.
    Attached Images

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Try setting the UCS to World and see if that fixes the problem.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,138

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 12Chris View Post
    I'm not sure why, but copying and pasting from paper space to model space doesn't work. I can copy in as a picture, but that will not work either.
    It's possible that you pasted to model space, couldn't see the result, and assumed it "doesn't work." That can get you into trouble. If you can't see what a command did, it may have put something outside your current viewing area. It's best to UNDO in these cases and try again.

    In the case of the copy/paste, you may have put the item(s) somewhere you didn't intend. Unless you use Copy With Base Point, you can't be sure where the item(s) will appear. In paper space, things are typically near the origin. When you paste them into model space, they may appear near the origin, so if your viewing area is somewhere else, you won't see them.

    Another possibility is that the items look normal in paper space but get much smaller in model space. They are still there, just so small that you don't notice them. That's a good reason to use CHSPACE instead of copy/paste.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  9. #9
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    fuccaro's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Mechanical eng.
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,577

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CyberAngel View Post
    They are still there, just so small that you don't notice them. That's a good reason to use CHSPACE instead of copy/paste.
    After copy-pasting, do a zoom to extents. And the good news: I just checked and AutoCAD 2004 was the first version with the CHSPACE command
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hey, thanks again! CHSAPCE comes up with "unknow command" though.
    You're right about the copy deal. I copied it with a base point, and pasted in in model space...it was such a itty bitty thing I could barely make it out. I guess I can scale it up, or is there some Autocaddy kinda trick I can use for that?
    About the UCS icon, the thing that threw me off was the command line would say I'm drawing at an angle of 270 when it's showing up as 30. Either he rotated the whole page, or I dunno what he did this for. Kinda embarrased to ask him at this point. :-).

Similar Threads

  1. 2011 AutoCAD - Setting my LTSCALE in Paper Space as the same it is in Model Space
    By Rage221677 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd Dec 2010, 07:31 pm
  2. How to Freeze paper space dimension layer in model space
    By david1954 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13th May 2010, 04:16 pm
  3. Drawing appears different in paper space than model space
    By dwelch in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 19th Feb 2010, 12:35 pm
  4. AcadPViewport2 - Deleting items in model space that aren't seen inside paper space
    By lovemy65stang in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 18th Aug 2009, 05:26 am
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd Jan 2007, 10:20 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts