+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33
  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    when I type ucs in the command line, it says "current ucs name: *NO NAME*. Below that, <World> is the default, so when I hit Enter, the ucs rotates so the X axis is pointing down and Y axis is almost horizontal, pointing slightly upwards. I dunno what's going on here.

  2. #12
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    After that, type PLAN and hit Enter twice to realign the drawing view with the WCS.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Hey, that did it! So now I'm starting to see what this guy mighta did. Maybe somehow oriented the ucs and crosshairs to whatever he was working on in the drawing. It's very large, and the various objects are oriented at different angles. I was reading a little about this, but haven't quite got it yet. Anyone familiar with this? I just never ran across it before.

  4. #14
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    I do it all the time. When a floor plan has non symmetrical layouts I will rotate the UCS around the Z axis then use the PLAN command to realign the drawing orientation.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Thanks. How do you do it?

  6. #16
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    Type UCS, choose Z, then type in the rotation angle or pick two points. Then type PLAN and hit Enter twice to align the drawing orientation. To get back to normal, type UCS and hit Enter twice, then PLAN and Enter twice. Simple as that.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    vertical horizons's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 PRO
    Motherboard:
    DX79TO
    CPU:
    I-7 3820 @3.60 GHz
    RAM:
    16.0 GB
    Graphics:
    AMD FirePro W7000
    Primary Storage:
    16 GB
    Monitor:
    ViewSonic VX2739wm (Primary) & HP w1907 (Secondary)
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    vertical horizons's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Drafting Supervisor
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    236

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack_O'neill View Post
    ... Here's where it gets really cool. No matter what scale you use in the viewport, if you put all your dimensions on in paperspace, they will all be the same size! Even if you change the scale, a regen will fix all the dimensions and they will be correct, and still be the same size ...
    Another tip ...

    Set DIMASSOC to "2".
    This will allow you to dimension (in paperspace) everything that you drew in modelspace, and it will dimension correctly.

    For example, you drew something true size (let's say 30 foot long) in modelspace. Looking at it in paperspace, your screen is not 30 foot long, so the item has to be looked at through a viewport. If you dimension the item (in paperspace) and DIMASSOC is set to "2", then even though the item is actually 30 foot long, the item will dimension correctly.

  8. #18
    Full Member emwhite's Avatar
    Computer Details
    emwhite's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7 Pro
    Computer:
    Lenovo w510
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i7-720QM (1.60GHz base; 2.80GHz Max Turbo, 6MB Cache)
    RAM:
    8GB (2 X 4GB) PC3-10600 DDR3 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA® Quadro® FX 880M
    Primary Storage:
    Intel 160gb SSD, Windows Home Server 5TB+
    Discipline
    Structural
    emwhite's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Sales Support/CAD Monkey
    Discipline
    Structural
    Details
    Light gauge framing of homes.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    74

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    Type UCS, choose Z, then type in the rotation angle or pick two points. Then type PLAN and hit Enter twice to align the drawing orientation. To get back to normal, type UCS and hit Enter twice, then PLAN and Enter twice. Simple as that.
    Thank you for that tip! I didn't know about the PLAN command.

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    11

    Default

    This is a good tip.The crosshairs and ucs look right, but now the whole drawing rotates somehow. Haven't figured this one out yet.

  10. #20
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Why is that a problem (rotated drawing)? Maybe that's why the UCS and crosshairs were rotated in the first place.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. 2011 AutoCAD - Setting my LTSCALE in Paper Space as the same it is in Model Space
    By Rage221677 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd Dec 2010, 07:31 pm
  2. How to Freeze paper space dimension layer in model space
    By david1954 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13th May 2010, 04:16 pm
  3. Drawing appears different in paper space than model space
    By dwelch in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 19th Feb 2010, 12:35 pm
  4. AcadPViewport2 - Deleting items in model space that aren't seen inside paper space
    By lovemy65stang in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 18th Aug 2009, 05:26 am
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd Jan 2007, 10:20 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts