+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default Printing/Plotting to scale

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Print a .dwg file to scale? I'm on Autocad 2006, and whenever I set the scale to 1:1 and go to print, it only shows one page of the 4 required to handle the 44" by 4.25" wide drawing. I've gone through every single plotting option and nothing seems to work. Is there anyother programs, in which i can easily print my file, i can export a file that will maintain the scale as in the dwg file? Sorry If this doesn't make sense, I'm just really frustrated right now. If you need more information, let me know. Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Motherboard:
    Intel DZ77RE-75K
    CPU:
    i7-4770K 3.50GHz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 2000
    Primary Storage:
    125GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    500GB SATA
    Monitor:
    ASUS 27" / ASUS 24"
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    3,904

    Default Re: Printing/Plotting to scale

    Quote Originally Posted by mistergwinge
    Print a .dwg file to scale? I'm on Autocad 2006, and whenever I set the scale to 1:1 and go to print, it only shows one page of the 4 required to handle the 44" by 4.25" wide drawing. I've gone through every single plotting option and nothing seems to work. Is there anyother programs, in which i can easily print my file, i can export a file that will maintain the scale as in the dwg file? Sorry If this doesn't make sense, I'm just really frustrated right now. If you need more information, let me know. Thanks
    Are you printing from model space or from a layout?

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I tried both, but both had the same problem. I'm leaning towards model space because I have no clue what's going on in the layout part.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Motherboard:
    Intel DZ77RE-75K
    CPU:
    i7-4770K 3.50GHz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 2000
    Primary Storage:
    125GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    500GB SATA
    Monitor:
    ASUS 27" / ASUS 24"
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    3,904

    Default

    There are three variables at play here. The size of the paper, the desired scale of the drawing, and the size of the drawing.

    You can only specify 2 of the three.

    Let's say the size of your drawing is 1200' long x 800' high, and the desired scale is 1"=40'

    This will not fit on an 8-1/2 x 11 sheet of paper. 1200' / 40' = 30 (meaning you need 30" of paper long) and 800' / 40' = 20 (20" high)

    A drawing of this size and scale requires a 22x34 or 24x36 sheet.

    If you hold the paper size and drawing size, then there will be a minimum scale factor. If you hold the scale and paper size, then there is only a limited amount of the drawing that will fit.


    So...... I would advise learning how to print from a layout, but if you are sticking with MS for now, then use the above rules to figure out what is missing. If your drawing is 44" x 4.25" - then it would require a sheet of paper this size to be able to plot 1"=1"

    A layout represents a sheet of paper. You choose the size. Then you create a viewport that fits on the sheet of paper. Then you scale the contents of the viewport. This makes the rules above easier to understand,

    Good luck

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I'm not really sure how to do that whole viewpoints thing, but (in model space) I got it so it will print to scale, but it only shows and prints one page, not the four pages that it spans across.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,884

    Default

    From Model Space you could plot to scale on the following sheet sizes:

    48x36 using 1:1

    24x18 using 1:2

    14x8.5 using 1:4

    11x8.5 using 1:5

    Plot using Extents, check off Center the Plot and do a full Preview to make sure everything fits on the sheet.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    canada, eh!
    Posts
    607

    Default

    if you want to plot to 4 seperate sheets you will need to plot each of them seperately--autocad will not do this for you automattically...there is a way to print all paperspace tabs at once but that means you will need to setup 4 seperate layout sheets for each "view" you need to print....

    i think what might be easier for you at the moment is to draw an 8x10 rectangle (those represents your printer's printable area--remember they have print margins) and place it on a layer that is non-plotable...copy this rectangle 3 more times and lay them accross your drawing with slight overlaps...then use the plot command 4 times and chose a window that corresponds to each "page" border you have drawn...

    this should get you going for this project...

    in the future tho you should draw 1:1 in model space then deal with the scale factor in a viewport using paperspace...

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I did originally do the model in 1:1 but layout seems to shrink it down to fit the page...

    and thanks a lot, I appreciate the help =)

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie Terminator's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1

    AutoCAD

    Will follow your advise guys !!

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    578

    Default Plotter driver?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    My experience has been that the plotter driver sort of limits the actual or full size of the drawing. Every day that I anticipate to plot out a drawing, have to go to Windows select the plotter, ask for a custom page size, etc. and set the parameters. Otherwise it will forget what was last used, and revert over to some Deskjet parameters, and thus I only get a portion.

    Also, if I get near to some magic number as set forth by the plotter or software, the page will clip off the needed information. Used to be that the plotters would easily handle drawings up to about 400-500 inches long. No more. There is some inborn cut off point now in MS Windows that limits plot sizes, lengths, etc. May need to go back to some earlier version just to get a nice plot.


    Remember, we are in the minority of users, and the plotter is seldom used or plugged into the backside of a computer anymore.

    I sure liked the pen plotters wherein you fed in one size of paper, and then knew exactly what the size would be in a few minutes.


    Wm.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts