+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member Joseph Marquez's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Joseph Marquez's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium
    Computer:
    Toshiba Satellite L505 Laptop
    CPU:
    Intel i7
    RAM:
    8.00 GB
    Graphics:
    Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 4500M
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    20" HD LCD monitor
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    18

    AutoCAD Adding landscape details

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I just learned how to add material to objects so I am having fun with that but I was wondering if Autocad 2011 had an object library were I can add trees and bushes to make my building more realistic. If Autocad 2011 does not have a library, what is the best website where I can get 3D blocks for free. This is what I have so far, I know it is not perfect but I just finished my freshman year of college so I dont know too much yet.

    Also, I was wondering if it was possible to create a viewport in another window because I have two monitors and I want one for top view and the other monitor for an isometric view.
    Thank you!
    -Joseph Marquez

  2. #2
    Super Member nocturne00's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nocturne00's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista SP2
    Computer:
    Dell Studio XPS
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8600
    RAM:
    4GB DDR3 RAM
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon, 512MB
    Monitor:
    22" Samsung
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tartarus
    Posts
    769

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joseph Marquez View Post
    Also, I was wondering if it was possible to create a viewport in another window because I have two monitors and I want one for top view and the other monitor for an isometric view.
    Thank you!
    -Joseph Marquez
    You could stretch your autoCAD window up to the other monitor then set your "vports" to 2, split vertically.

    For adding landscape trees, is it for presentation purposes(rendered perspective)? if so I suggest adding it in photoshop.
    Not sure for AutoCAD2011 but i think there is a built in landscape library, but is only 2d trees, plants. the last I used it was in aCAD2006
    ....always perform Beyond what is expected.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Joseph Marquez's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Joseph Marquez's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium
    Computer:
    Toshiba Satellite L505 Laptop
    CPU:
    Intel i7
    RAM:
    8.00 GB
    Graphics:
    Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 4500M
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    20" HD LCD monitor
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Yeah I was hoping I didnt have to do that but I guess thats the only way. Thanks!
    And the trees are for presentation purposes, I guess Ill have to learn Photoshop now haha.

  4. #4
    Super Member nocturne00's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nocturne00's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista SP2
    Computer:
    Dell Studio XPS
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8600
    RAM:
    4GB DDR3 RAM
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon, 512MB
    Monitor:
    22" Samsung
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tartarus
    Posts
    769

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joseph Marquez View Post
    Yeah I was hoping I didnt have to do that but I guess thats the only way. Thanks!
    And the trees are for presentation purposes, I guess Ill have to learn Photoshop now haha.
    Yep presentation and photoshop go hand in hand, Next to powerpoint. Prepare raw perspectives>do post production on perspectives>adding title block, texts, diagrams> arranging em in powerpoint/ presentation boards> preparing your 15min speech explaining your work hehe! I hope im not moving away from your thread question
    ....always perform Beyond what is expected.

  5. #5
    Junior Member Joseph Marquez's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Joseph Marquez's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium
    Computer:
    Toshiba Satellite L505 Laptop
    CPU:
    Intel i7
    RAM:
    8.00 GB
    Graphics:
    Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 4500M
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    20" HD LCD monitor
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nocturne00 View Post
    Yep presentation and photoshop go hand in hand, Next to powerpoint. Prepare raw perspectives>do post production on perspectives>adding title block, texts, diagrams> arranging em in powerpoint/ presentation boards> preparing your 15min speech explaining your work hehe! I hope im not moving away from your thread question
    Haha this is all good stuff I need to know anyways! Thanks for the help!
    Joseph Marquez, Texas Tech University
    "The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory"
    "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else"
    "Food is an important part of a balanced diet. "

  6. #6
    Senior Member rvpas's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rvpas's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Seven Pro
    Computer:
    laptop HP EliteBook 8760w - workstation hp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    rvpas's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    building CAD designer and AUTOCAD ATC instructor free lance
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Help to design building with architect work with REVIT and AUTOCAD during the step of conception, follow the contruction site, building survey. ATC Instructor with trainng center 2d 3d AUTOCAD and REVIT
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Rochester NY
    Posts
    180

    Default

    Hi Joseph,
    You can use rpc plugin but it ain't free
    see http://www.archvision.com/
    Pascal

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You start adding in 3D blocks for shrubs and trees and that will significantly increase file size in my opinion.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. landscape - portrait
    By bjenk8100 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th Jul 2010, 04:45 pm
  2. Landscape linework
    By madriver in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd Jun 2010, 06:59 am
  3. Print to PDF in landscape
    By salmonrose in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th Apr 2010, 07:43 am
  4. How do I add landscape into the library?
    By kickin4life in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17th Apr 2006, 06:12 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts