+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    2

    Default Show all lengths and angles on print out

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,

    So I am rather new to AutoCad, and have received a drawing from a client. I want to print the drawing out and have all lengths and angles shown on print out. The model currently doesn't show the lengths and angles on it.

    I understand that you can use Dimensions or Measure, but as the drawing is very complicated is there not an easier way to do this?

    Many thanks,
    Owen

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    The only way to have the lengths and angles show up on your drawing would be to dimension it. There is no magic button. You could try using the Quick Dimension command or maybe even a custom lisp routine but either way YOU are going to have to put some kind of effort into it. Better get started; the drawing will not dimension itself.

    Did you check the drawing to see if perhaps it was dimensioned but the layer the dimensions appear on is turned off or frozen?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    The only way to have the lengths and angles show up on your drawing would be to dimension it. There is no magic button. You could try using the Quick Dimension command or maybe even a custom lisp routine but either way YOU are going to have to put some kind of effort into it. Better get started; the drawing will not dimension itself.

    Did you check the drawing to see if perhaps it was dimensioned but the layer the dimensions appear on is turned off or frozen?
    Thanks for your quick reply, the Quick Dimension is a great command, it will have to do. Shame there is no magic button, but always best to ask just in case.

    Cheers,

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    You might want to look into getting some training if you plan on using AutoCAD more in the future.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrMule View Post
    received a drawing from a client. I want to print the drawing out and have all lengths and angles shown on print out. The model currently doesn't show the lengths and angles on it.
    Why didn't the client provide dimensions? It makes me wonder about the accuracy of the drawing.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  6. #6
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,043

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by MrMule View Post
    I want to print the drawing out and have all lengths and angles shown on print out.....
    Being old fashioned, I would expect to use a scale rule and a protractor to give lengths and angles, instead of cluttering up the drawing with lots of text and arrows.

Similar Threads

  1. How to display angles and line lengths in autocad
    By nils in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11th Jul 2017, 03:38 pm
  2. Drawing a PLINE with known lengths and angles
    By SAFeSTeR in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th Aug 2013, 06:49 pm
  3. Letters don't show up in Print Preview
    By CeKing2012 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th Sep 2012, 11:45 pm
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28th Jul 2011, 07:12 pm
  5. getting degree symbol to show when dimming angles
    By whitehaint in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 18th Aug 2009, 06:06 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts