+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 24 of 24
  1. #21
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    MEP 2014
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    this thread is helpful great jobs men!

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default

    This thread really helped, thank you.

  3. #23
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    613

    Default Dims

    Well,

    I have never adjusted dims from 0,1, or 2 that I knew of. However, to make things work very easy, I setup a new dim style and make it annotative. In my dim style I choose a text style that is also annotative if that matters. I choose my individual preferences of precision, fit, units etc. Now all I have to do is go into model space. After I draw something I figure out my viewport(s) scale. Then back in model space. Whatever scale I had chosen I change annotative scale to that and then dimension. Typically does not fail. I do the same with leaders. As far as annotative blocks, I am not there. I have them all drawn 1 to 1 in model space. If I want to bring it into a drawing that I am doing at 1/8"=1'-0" I would have to scale the block by 96. If there is text in the block all hell breaks lose though. Still a newb to annotative blocks.

  4. #24
    Super Member irneb's Avatar
    Computer Details
    irneb's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 Pro 64bit
    Computer:
    Antec One Hundred
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P8P67-Pro P67
    CPU:
    Intel i7 2600 @ 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    16GB-1600MHz
    Graphics:
    GeForce GT 430 (1GB)
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate1TB SATA2 - 7200rpm
    Monitor:
    Samsung 2333TN 23" 1920 x 1080 Full HD LCD Monitor2GW
    Discipline
    Architectural
    irneb's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Technician and Programmer
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Jo'burg SA
    Posts
    1,744

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by bjenk8100 View Post
    Well,

    I have never adjusted dims from 0,1, or 2 that I knew of. However, to make things work very easy, I setup a new dim style and make it annotative. In my dim style I choose a text style that is also annotative if that matters. I choose my individual preferences of precision, fit, units etc. Now all I have to do is go into model space. After I draw something I figure out my viewport(s) scale. Then back in model space. Whatever scale I had chosen I change annotative scale to that and then dimension. Typically does not fail. I do the same with leaders. As far as annotative blocks, I am not there. I have them all drawn 1 to 1 in model space. If I want to bring it into a drawing that I am doing at 1/8"=1'-0" I would have to scale the block by 96. If there is text in the block all hell breaks lose though. Still a newb to annotative blocks.
    I agree with you ... though there are some issues regarding the use of annotative dims / leaders. Especially if you start adding extra scales onto the same dim/leader/text. Stuff like mirroring and stretching starts to play havoc with the positioning of the annotations. Also many have found issues with anno scales themselves. So a lot of people simply refuse to use them. BTW, I'd advise you use a text style for the anno dim, which is non-annotative and it's default height set to 0. That way you only need one single setting (in the dimstyle) to define the text's height - else you'd run into issues there too.

    This thread is simply meant to show the alternatives available - not necessarily an either-or situation. As both DimAssoc=1 and 2 is still available with annotative dims also.

    If you notice, I did mention annotative in my OP (original post).

    Anyhow, this is a rather old thread now. Since then I've done very little in AutoCAD. 90% of my work is now in Revit.
    Knowledge is proportional to experience, but wisdom is inversely proportional to ego!
    My little bit of "wisdom": Hind-sight is useless, unless used to improve the next forethought!

Similar Threads

  1. Determine what associative dimensions are attached to.
    By manddarran in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 13th Apr 2010, 09:43 pm
  2. Associative dimensions
    By DP-MWS in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th Jan 2010, 02:34 pm
  3. Is it possible to create associative, PaperSpace dimensions using VBA
    By ginak in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th Jul 2009, 09:32 pm
  4. Need ideas... rotating associative dimensions
    By frostrap in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th Feb 2008, 01:02 am
  5. associative dimensions in x-refs
    By michaeloureiro in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10th Jan 2008, 04:06 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts