+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5

    Question Q: Creating a circle in 3D.

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum (first post)!
    I come seeking help on an AutoCAD homework assignment. I'm trying to draw an object in 3D view, but I'm having trouble creating a circle in the Z direction. I know how to make circles on the X-Y plane but I can't figure out how to make one in the Z direction!
    I hope someone can help me out, for a better look at the thing I'm making I attached a picture so you can see what the object looks like, and more or less the "3D circle"! I also attached the actual AutoCAD file that I'm working on if it helps to take a look at that too. (The dimensions are 1:10)


    Thanks everyone ahead of time for the help!
    -Matt

    P.S.: I'm using AutoCAD version 2012.
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    2,826

    Default

    Welcome to Cadtutor

    Circles can only be created on the XY plane, so you either have to rotate the UCS, or you create the circle first, and then rotate it using ROTATE3D, 3DROTATE, ALIGN, or the 3DGizmos.

    Also, is it your intention to draw this with only 2D linework, or do you want to create a real 3D part? Take a look --> http://screencast.com/t/paSMBKFii9Fp

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I tried to use ROTATE3D before I came to ask, but I couldn't figure out exactly how to use it. Every time it would mess up, but I'll follow the video and switch it into conceptual. I'm not quite sure if they want the drawing to be solid like the way you did it, but I think that's the best way to show the final product, so I'll also add that into the drawing.
    Thanks a bunch for the video, it's super cool and very helpful !

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,808

    Default

    Create the object as a solid not as a surface.

    Being able to manipulate the UCS is a requirement for working in 3D as well. This can be done in a handful of ways. One such way is to use a feature called Dynamic UCS.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  5. #5
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,389

    Default

    Nothing here makes sense.
    Why would you model something at 1:10 rather than 1:1? That makes no sense at all?

    Why would you model a 3D as wireframe when it is soooo much easier to do as a solid (which is more representative of the real world)?

    Are you familiar with commands like Presspull or Extrude?
    The title of your file is "Term Project". To me that implies significant prior instruction and this is end of course.
    Has your instructor covered 3D (if not - why the assignment, there are a bunch of tutorials in my signature).

    For something like this I would be learning a modern 3D MCAD program like Autodesk Inventor. Students can get Inventor (and AutoCAD) for free from http://www.autodesk.com along with curriculum materials for learning the softwares.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  6. #6
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T7500
    CPU:
    Xeon Dual Core E5503 2.0Ghz
    RAM:
    6GB DDR3 ECC SDRAM, 1333MHz, 6x1GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 3800
    Primary Storage:
    300Gb, 10K rpm
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    3,930

    Default

    Could you post the actual assignment instructions here? Maybe the instructor wants an iso drawing. If not, I doubt they want a wireframe 3D, as mentioned, but instead wants a solid 3D object. But if you haven't had any instruction on 3D then probably not.

    You can change the UCS in 2012 by picking on the UCSIcon and rotating it with the grips, so pick a grip on the ucsicon and move to bring the X-Y plane to the position you are needing, turn ortho on first.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Well everyone, I'll try and answer all of your questions.

    First of all this is the term project, but this is only the extra credit part.

    Second, I've attached the instructions below:
    Created in AutoCAD:
    •Elevation Views of the object
    Front
    Back
    Side Views
    •Section Views
    X-axis (down the center of the object)
    Y- axis (the other direction, down the center of the object)
    •Plan View of the object
    •Requirements:
    Label Dimensions (on ALL drawings)
    •Submittal of Term Project:
    -PDF Format
    •Bonus 8 points:
    -Create a 3D Model of the Object


    Thirdly, I created the object at a scale of 1:10 because if it was 1:1 I could not figure out how to zoom out enough to view the lines I was making so I figured I'd scale it down a bit to make that part easier. The instructor had us scale most of the drawings in the course to either 1:10 or 1:20, so I'm sure it's fine.

    Also, the course to tell you all the truth was horrible. It was an online course where the professor didn't teach how to do any of the assignments, just expected us to learn from the textbook, so I'm basing all of my drawings off of the knowledge I gained from taking AutoCAD/Drafting in highschool for 3 years. I'm having trouble because the AutoCAD versions were really different :\. So, she never taught us anything, so I basically had no clue that there were different views i.e. 2-D wireframe, 3D Modeling, ... etc.

    Nonetheless, I was able to create the 3D Model based on the video posted above. All I have to do now is the other views. I was hoping there would be a shortcut since the 3D model can basically be viewed in all of the forms listed above that she's asking for, but I'm pretty sure she wants them all drawn out individually so there's probably no real way to get around that.

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,808

    Default

    Your instructor dropped the ball. She should have told you to draw your objects in model space at FULL size. The days of "scaling' model space objects is long past.

    She should have also instructed you in the use of paper space layouts. It would have been so much easier to create all the 2D views from the 3D object and that includes sections as well.

    Where did you find this course anyway? Who teaches it? What is the name of the school or the course itself?

    I think the teacher needs to go back to school herself.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  9. #9
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,389

    Default

    Get your money back.
    This is a trivial problem using AutoCAD 2012.
    You have not been taught properly.
    Start with the base of the part (likely the first profile you drew)
    Presspull the height.
    See if you can figure out how to add the left side vertical and then the cylindrical features.
    In 2012 creating the orthographic view of the solid is very fast and easy.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  10. #10
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    2,826

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Just to demonstrate some of the neat stuff your teacher didn't show you.... Viewports.

    http://screencast.com/t/5QUfg4FBbjpI

Similar Threads

  1. How to hatch a circle pattern in a circle?
    By Gail77333 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 6th Feb 2011, 01:22 am
  2. circle center line(Like Plus symbol and after circle 4 sides 5mm extra length)
    By johnpieter in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th Dec 2010, 02:23 pm
  3. Circle tool is no circle
    By gotchy in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 13th Jan 2010, 12:01 am
  4. Creating TBlock/Creating reference pathway
    By driftingsun3 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th Jan 2008, 08:23 pm
  5. Line from inner circle to outer circle
    By jocaan in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th Mar 2004, 09:28 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts